Ottawa Fire Services partners with federal government

THE FOLLOWING NEWS RELEASE WAS ISSUED ON JUNE 7, 2016 BY THE OTTAWA FIRE SERVICES. IT IS REPOSTED HERE WITH THEIR PERMISSION.

  Aim: to develop a new training curriculum for Canadian firefighters

News Release 

June 7, 2016 – Mirabel, Québec

From June 6 to 9, 2016, experts will set fire to two structures and ask firefighters to respond to the fires using new training materials developed through a federally-funded project led by the Ottawa Fire Services (OFS).

These experiments are part of the project, “From Knowledge to Practice: Embedding scientific knowledge of fire dynamics into firefighting operations”, which aims to develop a new fire curriculum that integrates more science-based knowledge about fire dynamics – how fires start, spread and develop - into current firefighting training, strategies and tactics. OFS is working closely with its project partners,  including the Calgary Fire Department, Halifax Regional Fire & Emergency Services, the Service de la sécurité incendie de Mirabel and the Service de sécurité incendie de Montréal.

The experiments will provide key insights into the curriculum’s practical applications. Gaps will be identified and can then be addressed to positively impact firefighting strategies and protocols. This knowledge will be used to review and finalize the curriculum materials. The resulting curriculum will be incorporated into Canadian firefighting training certification standards for adoption and use by all fire services in Canada. Ultimately, this project will improve firefighting strategies and firefighter safety by offering robust and full-spectrum training.

The project is funded through the Canadian Safety and Security Program, a federal program led by Defence Research and Development Canada’s Centre for Security Science (DRDC CSS), in partnership with Public Safety Canada.

“This project and the resulting training materials will greatly enhance the development of training programs that modernize operating policies and procedures,” said Ottawa Fire Service Division Chief Peter McBride who is the project manager. “It will contribute to an up-to-date approach to fire service investment decisions, policies, and practices, for use in Canada and internationally.”

“The Canadian Safety and Security Program plays an important role in developing science and technology tools and knowledge that support Canada’s public safety and security communities, including first responders.” said Dr. Mark Williamson, Director General, DRDC CSS. “We are proud to support important projects like this because they are helping us to develop the critical evidence-base and knowledge necessary to ensure the safety and effectiveness of firefighters, and ultimately the lives and livelihoods of Canadians”.

Danielle Cardinal, Public Information Officer

Ottawa Fire Services

613-913-2812   Danielle.Cardinal@ottawa.ca

Date modified:

Service des Incendies d’Ottawa en partenariat avec le gouvernement fédéral

LE COMMUNIQUÉ CI-DESSOUS À ÉTÉ PUBLIÉ, LE 7 JUIN 2016, PAR LE SERVICE DES INCENDIES D’OTTAWA. IL EST AFFICHÉ ICI AVEC LEUR PERMISSION.

  But : Développer un nouveau curriculum de formation pour les pompiers Canadien 

 Communiqué de presse

Le mardi, 7 juin 2016 – Mirabel, Québec

Du 6 au 9 juin prochain, des experts en incendie mettront le feu à des structures et des pompiers les éteindront à l’aide des outils de formation conçu dans le cadre d’un projet financé par le Programme canadien pour la sûreté et la sécurité. Service des Incendies d’Ottawa (SIO) est l’organisme principal qui gère ce projet de grande envergure.

Les essais sont une composante du projet « From Knowledge to Practice : Embedding scientific knowledge of fire dynamics into firefighting operations », qui vise à développer un nouveau curriculum qui comprend plus de connaissances scientifique  au sujet des dynamiques de feu.  Par exemple, observer comment un feu commence, se propage et se développe permettra d’intégrer de nouvelles stratégies et tactiques dans les pratiques courantes de la sécurité incendie.  SIO travaille de près avec ses nombreux partenaires entre autre, Calgary Fire Department, Halifax Regional Fire & Emergency 

Services, Service de la sécurité incendie de Mirabel et Service de sécurité incendie de Montréal

Les divers exercices fournissent des indices clés au sujet du curriculum et ses applications pratiques. Certaines lacunes seront identifiées et pourront être adressées afin d’avoir un impact positif sur les stratégies et protocoles d’incendies. Ces connaissances seront appliquées lors de la révision et finalisation de matériels d’apprentissage. Le curriculum révisé sera incorporé dans les standards Canadien de certification d’incendie et reconnus par tous les services d’incendies au Canada. Bref, le projet améliorera les stratégies d’incendies et la sécurité des pompiers en offrant une formation robuste et exhaustive.    

Le projet est financé dans le cadre du Programme canadien pour la sûreté et la sécurité, un programme fédéral dirigé par le Centre des sciences pour la sécurité de Recherche et développement pour la défense Canada (RDDC CSS), en partenariat avec Sécurité publique Canada.

Ce projet et le matériel de formation qui en résultera vont amplifier le développement de programmes de formations qui serviront à moderniser les politiques et procédures, constate M. Peter McBride, chef de division Sécurité et innovation, SIO ainsi que gérant du projet. Celui-ci va contribuer à un approche innovatrice et à jour en ce qui a trait aux investissements dans les services incendies pour les décisions, politiques et procédures en place au Canada et internationalement.

Le Programme canadien pour la sûreté et la sécurité joue un rôle important en ce qui a trait au développement d’outils et de connaissances en matière de sciences et de technologie visant à appuyer les communautés de sûreté et de sécurité du Canada, affirme M. Mark Williamson, directeur général, RDDC CSS. Nous sommes fier de soutenir des projets comme celui-ci qui nous permettent d’élaborer des données et des connaissances fondées sur les preuves dont nous avons besoins pour assurer la sécurité et l’efficacité des pompiers et, en fin de compte, la vie et les moyens de subsistances des Canadiens et Canadiennes.

Danielle Cardinal, agente, Information au public

Service des incendies d’Ottawa

613-913-2812  Danielle.Cardinal@ottawa.ca

Date de modification :