Winter 2015

 

Canada’s Role in the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty Organization’s Largest-Ever Inspection Exercise

By John Buckle and Dr. Henry Seywerd

Over 2,000 nuclear test explosions occurred worldwide between 1945 and 1996. During that time, concerns over the danger of nuclear war, nuclear proliferation and exposure of populations and the environment to radioactive fallout motivated the creation of the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty (CTBT).

The Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty Organization (CTBTO) maintains a worldwide monitoring network to detect nuclear explosions, and supplements this with the capability to perform an on-site inspection of a country suspected of having conducted a nuclear test. Under the CTBT, any signatory country can request an onsite inspection in another signatory country to verify whether a nuclear explosion has taken place.

In November 2014, a large contingent of international inspectors was sent to Jordan’s Dead Sea region as part of a field exercise, “Integrated Field Exercise 2014”, to simulate such a process. Their mission: Detect a nuclear explosion. The exercise was the largest one ever conducted by the CTBTO. More than 200 technical experts from over 40 countries used more than 120 tonnes of equipment to conduct a mock on-site inspection of 1,000 square kilometers, looking for evidence of a nuclear explosion. The inspectors had up to 55 days to collect evidence to prove if a nuclear explosion had taken place. The evidence was then provided to the executive council for their final inspection report.

Canada -- through funding from the Department of Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development (DFATD) and with participation of scientists from Natural Resources Canada (NRCan) -- donated an airborne radiation measuring system that was used by CTBTO inspectors to assist in the verification of whether a nuclear explosion had taken place. The Canadian system was flown in a Jordanian Air Force Super Puma for six sorties, and the data was used in conjunction with other techniques such as visual observations, seismic networks, multi-spectral imaging and radionuclide sampling to provide evidence for the on-site inspection’s final report.

NRCan has been on the leading edge of the development of AGRS systems since the 1960s. The systems were designed for earth science applications -- in particular, mineral exploration of uranium -- but are also used in environmental monitoring, in consequence management applications following a nuclear accident, and to support security. In fact, an earlier version of this system was successfully used to find and map debris from the downed Russian nuclear powered satellite Cosmos 954 in the Northwest Territories in 1978, and in mapping low levels of Xenon-133 along the west coast of Canada as a result of the 2011 Fukushima nuclear disaster. CRTI funding to NRCan has further sustained exercises such as Exercise AS IS, Maritime Response, EXIT 08 and deployments of the system during the Vancouver 2010 Olympics, the G8/G20 meetings and the 2008 Francophonie Summit.

The Canadian system, built by Radiation Solutions Inc., was designed to be flown in a helicopter or a fixed winged aircraft and to be used to remotely detect gamma radiation. The key advantage of this technique is that large ground areas can be surveyed quickly and from a safe distance. NRCan designed the system and tested it with CTBTO staff in the spring of 2013. The system was delivered to Vienna (CTBTO headquarters), and NRCan provided in-flight and classroom training to the CTBT inspectors in Sicily, Italy (in September 2013) and in Hungary and Vienna (in the spring of 2014) as a lead up to Integrated Field Exercise 2014.

Looking forward, the Canadian AGRS system will remain with the CTBTO in Vienna, and NRCan intends to continue to support the CTBT by training inspectors, enhancing detection techniques, helping to develop operating procedures and maintaining the system. NRCan’s expertise, which has been supported by the CSSP, will play a vital role in CTBTO on-site inspection in the future and contribute to the deterrence of further nuclear weapons testing.

John Buckle is a scientist with Natural Resources Canada. He is responsible for operations of the Nuclear Emergency Response Project of the Canadian Hazards Information Service. Dr. Henry Seywerd is a radiation physicist with Natural Resources Canada and project leader of the Nuclear Emergency Response Project of the Canadian Hazards Information Service.

 


Rethinking Roles in Disaster Risk Reduction - the 5th Annual National Roundtable of Canada's Platform

Canada's Platform for Disaster Risk Reduction (DRR) connects people, businesses and organizations with great ideas and important networks at its Annual Roundtable.

On October 21, 2014, over 150 DRR partners descended on downtown Toronto. The full-day event, hosted by Public Safety Canada, drew international speakers and attendees from all levels of government, the private sector, academia, non-governmental organizations, professional associations, Aboriginal groups and the general public.

The goal of the Annual Roundtable is to enable inclusive, horizontal and participatory dialogue with DRR stakeholders across Canada. It is an important consultative mechanism used to inform the development of key domestic DRR-related policy issues. As well, the Roundtable links participants to the international community and the global efforts of the United Nations (UN) International Strategy for Disaster Reduction, in addition to other emergency management activities. Throughout the program, participants were encouraged to share information, express opinions and inspire action.

To encourage dialogue, the Roundtable featured a talk-show-style panel on how to better balance cost-sharing for disaster response and recovery across levels of governments and with the insurance industry. Facilitated by a renowned Canadian journalist, the conversation on this complex and controversial issue was informed, relevant and captivating. The consensus was that money spent preventing disasters and mitigating their impact is a wise investment. The talk-show was then followed by a session on "Extreme of Extremes", which referenced examples of intense world disasters along with a Canadian context.

Other sessions were hosted by the Platform’s working groups. They examined issues such as new techniques for analyzing disaster risk across Canada and also explored the additional risks faced by Aboriginal communities. Defence Research and Development Canada’s Centre for Security Science (DRDC CSS) is actively engaged with these working groups in a number of ways: Dr. Mark Williamson, Acting Director General, serves as the Co-chair of the Science and Technology Working Group; a number of DRDC CSS portfolio managers engage relevant working groups as part of their Community of Practice engagements; and the Canadian Safety and Security Program (CSSP) has funded a host of research initiatives across the various working groups. “The Platform offers DRDC CSS an excellent opportunity to gain a greater understanding of the public safety and security landscape, which informs the CSSP priorities”, said Dr. Williamson.

The Roundtable also opened the floor to industry to discuss their role in building Canada’s community resilience. Vice-presidents from IBM and Walmart spoke about the business value of investing in disaster mitigation and enabling employees to contribute to resilience efforts. The CEO of the Global Disaster Innovation Group challenged participants to think in an innovative way, even in disaster response.

The final session of the day looked to the future direction of DRR, both domestically and at the international level. A consultative session sought feedback from participants on the evolution of emergency management towards a focus on community resilience and how Canada is contributing to the UN's goals on DRR.

Canada's Platform for DRR strives to enable an open dialogue among stakeholders and looks forward to receiving feedback from its membership on previous Roundtable events as well as on future topics that would provide a meaningful forum for the membership. Planning for next year’s Roundtable is already under way. Please contact Canada's Platform Secretariat to share your ideas or to find out how to be connected to DRR work in Canada.

For more information on Canada’s Platform for DRR, consult the Public Safety Canada website: www.publicsafety.gc.ca. The Roundtable also opened the floor to industry to discuss their role in building Canada’s community resilience. Vice-presidents from IBM and Walmart spoke about the business value of investing in disaster mitigation and enabling employees to contribute to resilience efforts. The CEO of the Global Disaster Innovation Group challenged participants to think in an innovative way, even in disaster response.

The final session of the day looked to the future direction of DRR, both domestically and at the international level. A consultative session sought feedback from participants on the evolution of emergency management towards a focus on community resilience and how Canada is contributing to the UN's goals on DRR.

Canada's Platform for DRR strives to enable an open dialogue among stakeholders and looks forward to receiving feedback from its membership on previous Roundtable events as well as on future topics that would provide a meaningful forum for the membership. Planning for next year’s Roundtable is already under way. Please contact Canada's Platform Secretariat to share your ideas or to find out how to be connected to DRR work in Canada. For more information on Canada’s Platform for DRR, consult the Public Safety Canada website: www.publicsafety.gc.ca.

Canada's Platform Secretariat
drr-rrc@ps-sp.gc.ca

613-991-9748

 


Moving an All Hazard Risk Assessment Forward for the Provinces and Territories

By Kevin Janes and Richard Gorczyca

The National Enterprise Risk Management Initiative in the Public Sector (Initiative) commenced in late 2013. It has primarily focused on embedding an all hazards risk assessment (AHRA) process into an information system. The Initiative was made possible through funding provided by the Canadian Safety and Security Program (CSSP) and is led by the Government of Yukon. The governments of British Columbia, Saskatchewan, Manitoba, Nova Scotia, Northwest Territories and Nunavut are participating as members.

How do you bring an AHRA process to the provinces and territories? This question has occupied the minds of the project team, which includes staff members from the Government of Yukon, the Government of Nova Scotia and the systems development contractor Make IT Solutions. The project team looked for a common thread through the majority of the provinces and territories. That thread was a common interest in Enterprise Risk Management -- that is, a focus on organizational risk. The project team noted that the AHRA process, through its use of impact categories and a questionnaire format, had overcome a number of issues associated with traditional risk assessment approaches. Aligning an Enterprise Risk Assessment (ERA) with the AHRA was the key selling point: it would allow governments to use a similar approach for both organizational and disaster risks.

The project team also recognized that many existing risk management systems simply act as a repository of risks, and may not support the facilitation of the risk analysis itself. Throughout the initiative, a great deal of thought was given to integrating each step of the ERA and AHRA into the system: setting the context, risk identification, risk analysis, risk evaluation and risk treatment. Furthermore, the project team was able to enhance the facilitation methods of the existing AHRA by designing the information system to integrate and complement these facilitation methods. The system includes a mobile scoring application for polling risk assessment participants. By integrating the system into the facilitation in this way, the facilitator is able to review live scoring results to stoke lively debate where needed.

The project team also explored unique and innovative ways to enhance the quality and usability of training materials (which many systems are lacking). The developed risk assessment process and its supporting system would be incomplete without strong training materials in place for the risk analysts who are asked to use it. A commitment was made to develop a series of professional system and facilitation training screencasts and other support materials.

Conducting an AHRA can be a daunting task for even experienced risk analysts. However, through the use of a common approach with ERAs, risk analysts in the provinces and territories should find the AHRA more accessible due to resulting cross-training opportunities. Through this initiative, each of the participating provinces and territories will have received training on the developed risk management process and system, a production-ready risk management information system, and access to training materials.

Kevin Janes is a Business Analyst for the Government of Yukon and Richard Gorczyca is the Acting Director of Risk Management for the Government of Yukon.

 


Burn Wound Assessment to Optimize Patient Outcome

By Dr. Michael G. Sowa

Burn injuries don’t discriminate. From a toddler taking their first uncertain steps in the kitchen to the firefighter charging into a burning building or the soldier operating in theatre, all are at risk. Serious burn injuries can be life threatening -- and are at the very least life altering.

Burn wounds are among the most challenging and expensive injuries to treat and manage. In a mass casualty event, the logistical requirements needed for burn wound management could overwhelm our national capacity. Beyond that, accurate and early assessment of the injury improve the recovery of the patient. The key question is: Will the wound heal with appropriate wound care, or is surgery necessary? The prognosis for these injuries is critically dependent on the supply of blood to the wound. For example, the depth of the burn is related to the healing capacity of the wound. However, assessing these injuries is very difficult. Until now, there have been no objective methods to aid in determining wound depth or healing potential. Generally, a wait-and-see approach is adopted, but waiting increases the risk of infection and the chance of a thicker scar. It can also prolong the pain of the healing wound.

Clinicians, scientists, engineers and entrepreneurs from the Hospital for Sick Children in Toronto, the National Research Council of Canada (NRC) and Kent Imaging1 teamed up to develop a technology in response to these realities through support from the former CBRNE Research and Technology Initiative (CRTI) and the Canadian Safety and Security Program. This project will dramatically improve the management of burn injuries by enabling prompt and appropriate treatment. The technology uses state-of-the-art lasers and imaging technologies that can distinguish superficial and deeper burns by producing an image in a non-contact fashion. This allows the clinician to determine if the wound is being supplied with blood and receiving enough oxygen, which allows the clinician to decide whether or not the injury requires surgery.

To address some of the current gaps in casualty management, the technology was developed to be expedited to provide on-site incident management support, and optimize emergency centre operations, emergency triage, pre-hospital treatment as well as mass care. Beyond that, it can be used to assess chronic wounds, peripheral circulation (blood flow that reaches the upper and lower extremities of the body and the surface of the skin), surgical reconstruction and tissue transplantation.

A prototype has been built by Kent Imaging. It meets the Canadian Standards Association’s requirements for medical devices, and Health Canada has approved its use for investigational testing at the Hospital for Sick Children. Dr. Joel Fish, Medical Director of the Burn Program at Sick Kids, will lead the first clinical evaluation of this technology in the spring of 2015. “Experienced burn care providers cannot distinguish burn depth by just mere observation which results in either delayed treatment or sometimes over treatment”, said Dr. Fish. “We have received the new prototype and will be using this immediately hoping to have a ‘proof of concept’ complete in the next six months while at the same time commencing a scientific study on burn depth measurement.” The prototype, named KC-103, is based on oximetry imaging. That is to say, it measures the amount of oxygen in blood. It has recently received Food and Drug Administration (FDA) 510K market clearance and is undergoing extensive clinical trials.

Based on the clinical trials and innovations stemming from our current project, Kent Imaging will design a robust, field-portable version that can be widely deployed in clinical and field settings.

Dr. Michael G. Sowa is a Principal Research Officer and Group Leader for the Medical Devices Portfolio at the National Research Council of Canada.

Date modified:

Hiver 2015

 

Le rôle du Canada lors du plus grand exercice d’inspection jamais réalisé par l’Organisation du Traité d’interdiction complète des essais nucléaires

Par : John Buckle et Dr. Henry Seywerd

Plus de 2000 tests d’explosions nucléaires ont eu lieu à travers le monde entre 1945 et 1996. Au cours de cette période, les inquiétudes soulevées quant au danger d’une guerre nucléaire, à la prolifération nucléaire et à l’exposition des populations et de l’environnement aux retombées radioactives ont mené à la mise  en œuvre du Traité d’interdiction complète des essais nucléaires (TICEN).

L’Organisation du TICEN (OTICEN) maintient un réseau de surveillance à l’échelle mondiale afin de détecter toute explosion nucléaire, ainsi qu’une capacité d’inspection sur place dans un pays soupçonné d’avoir fait un essai nucléaire. Dans le cadre du TICEN, tout pays signataire peut demander une inspection sur le terrain dans un autre pays signataire afin de vérifier si une explosion nucléaire a eu lieu ou non.

En novembre 2014, une importante délégation d’inspecteurs internationaux a été envoyée en Jordanie dans la région de la mer Morte pour participer à un exercice sur le terrain, nommé « Integrated Field Exercise 2014 » (exercice intégré sur le terrain), afin de simuler un tel processus. Leur mission : détecter une explosion nucléaire. C’était le plus grand exercice jamais réalisé par l’OTICEN. Plus de 200 experts techniques de plus de 40 pays ont utilisé plus de 120 tonnes d’équipement pour simuler une inspection sur une superficie de 1000 kilomètres carrés, recherchant des preuves d’une explosion nucléaire. Les inspecteurs avaient jusqu’à 55 jours pour recueillir des preuves et démontré qu’une explosion avait eu lieu ou non. Ces preuves étaient ensuite communiquées au conseil exécutif pour la rédaction de leur rapport d’inspection final.

Le Canada -- grâce à un financement du ministère des Affaires étrangères, du Commerce et du Développement (MAECD) et la participation de chercheurs de Ressources naturelles Canada (RNCan) -- a fait don d’un système de mesure du rayonnement aéroporté, qui a été utilisé par les inspecteurs de l’OTICEN pour contribuer à la vérification de l’occurrence d’une telle explosion. Le système canadien a été monté dans un Super Puma des forces aériennes de la Jordanie. Six vols ont été réalisés, et les données recueillies ont été utilisées avec celles obtenues au moyen d’autres techniques, comme des observations visuelles, des réseaux sismiques, de l’imagerie multi-spectrale et de l’échantillonnage de radionucléides, afin de fournir des preuves pour le rapport final d’inspection sur le terrain.

Avant la contribution canadienne à l’OTICEN, un financement dans le cadre de l’ancienne Initiative en recherche et technologie CBRNE et de l’actuel Programme canadien pour la sûreté et la sûreté et la sécurité (PCSS) a permis à RNCan de faire progresser et d'obtenir des systèmes de spectroscopie gamma aéroportés (SGA) tel que le système utilisé par les inspecteurs de l’OTICEN pendant l’exercice. Ces systèmes sont aussi utilisés pour apporter un soutien au Plan fédéral en cas d’urgence nucléaire et à l’équipe nationale CBRNE au Canada.

RNCan est à la pointe du développement des systèmes de SGA depuis les années 1960. Ces systèmes ont été conçus pour des applications en sciences de la terre -- en particulier, pour l’exploration minérale de l’uranium -- mais sont aussi utilisés en surveillance environnementale et pour des applications de gestion suite à un accident nucléaire et pour appuyer les activités de sécurité. En fait, une version précédente de ce système a été utilisée avec succès pour retrouver et cartographier des débris du satellite russe à énergie nucléaire Cosmos 954 retombé dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest en 1978, et pour cartographier les faibles niveaux de xénon 133 le long de la côte ouest du Canada résultant de la catastrophe nucléaire de Fukushima de 2011. Le financement de l’IRTC obtenu par RNCan a aussi permis le soutien d’exercices comme les exercices AS IS, Maritime Response et EXIT 08, et pour des déploiements du système pendant les Jeux olympiques de Vancouver en 2010, les rencontres du G8/G20 et le Sommet de la francophonie en 2008.

Le système canadien, fabriqué par Radiation Solutions Inc., a été conçu de manière à être monté à bord d’un hélicoptère ou d’un avion à voilure fixe et d’être utilisé pour la détection à distance de rayonnement gamma. L’avantage clé de cette technique est que de grandes surfaces au sol peuvent être étudiées rapidement et à distance sécuritaire. RNCan a conçu ce système et l’a testé avec le personnel de l’OTICEN au printemps de 2013. Le système a été livré à Vienne (Administration centrale de l’OTICEN) et RNCan a fourni une formation en classe  et en vol aux inspecteurs du TICEN en Sicile, Italie (en septembre 2013), et en Hongrie et à Vienne (au printemps de 2014), en préparation à l’exercice intégré sur le terrain de 2014.

 À l’avenir, le système canadien de SGA restera à l’OTICEN à Vienne, et RNCan entend continuer son soutien au TICEN en formant des inspecteurs, en améliorant les techniques de détection, en aidant au développement de procédures d’exploitation et en assurant la maintenance du système. L’expertise de RNCan, qui a été soutenu par le PCSS et ses précurseurs depuis plus de 10 ans, jouera   un rôle vital lors des inspections futures sur le terrain de l’OTICEN et contribuera à prévenir de nouveaux essais d’armes nucléaires.

John Buckle est chercheur à Ressources naturelles Canada. Il est responsable des opérations du Projet de réponse en cas d’urgence nucléaire du Service canadien d’information sur les risques. Le Dr. Henry Seywerd est un physicien du rayonnement à Ressources naturelles Canada et chef de projet du Projet de réponse en cas d’urgence nucléaire du Service canadien d’information sur les risques.

 


Repenser les rôles en matière de réduction des risques de catastrophe -- Cinquième Table ronde nationale annuelle de la Plate-forme du Canada

La Plate-forme du Canada pour la réduction des risques de catastrophe (RRC) permet aux personnes, aux entreprises et aux organisations d’établir des liens avec des grandes idées et des réseaux importants lors de sa Table ronde annuelle.

Le 21 octobre 2014, plus de 150 partenaires en RRC se sont réunis au centre-ville de Toronto. Les personnes présentes à cette journée complète,  dont l'hôte était Sécurité publique Canada, étaient des conférenciers et des participants internationaux de tous les niveaux de gouvernement, du secteur privé, du monde universitaire, d'organisations non gouvernementales, d'associations professionnelles, de groupes autochtones et du grand public.

La Table ronde annuelle vise à favoriser un dialogue inclusif, horizontal et participatif entre les parties intéressées de toutes les régions du Canada qui s’intéressent à la RRC. Il s'agit d'un important mécanisme de consultation utilisé pour faciliter l’élaboration d’importantes questions stratégiques nationales liées à la RRC. De plus, la Table ronde met les participants en relation avec la communauté internationale et les efforts globaux de la Stratégie nationale de prévention des catastrophes de l’Organisation des Nations Unies (ONU), en plus des autres activités de gestion des urgences. Dans le cadre du programme de cette journée, les participants étaient encouragés à échanger de l'information, à exprimer leurs opinions et à inspirer l'action.

Pour encourager le dialogue, la Table ronde s'est déroulée sous forme d'émission-débat qui portait sur la meilleure façon de partager les coûts lors de l'intervention et du rétablissement en cas de catastrophe entre les ordres de gouvernement et l’industrie de l'assurance. Animée par un journaliste canadien réputé, la conversation sur cette question complexe et controversée était éclairée, pertinente et captivante. Tous s'entendaient pour dire que les sommes dépensées pour prévenir les désastres et atténuer leur incidence étaient un bon investissement. L'émission-débat était suivie d'une séance sur les « extrêmes des extrêmes », qui faisait référence aux exemples de désastres intenses dans le monde, en plus d’un contexte canadien.

D'autres séances ont été organisées par les groupes de travail de la Plate-forme. Elles ont examiné des questions telles que les nouvelles techniques d'analyse des risques de catastrophes à l’échelle du Canada et ont aussi  étudié les risques supplémentaires auxquels font face les collectivités autochtones. Le Centre des sciences pour la sécurité de Recherche et développement pour la défense Canada (RDDC CSS) joue un rôle actif dans ces groupes de travail de plusieurs façons : M. Williamson, Directeur général par intérim de RDDC CSS, est le coprésident du Groupe de travail sur les sciences et la technologie; un certain nombre de gestionnaires de portefeuille de RDDC CSS ont participé à des groupes de travail pertinents aux engagements de leurs communautés de pratique; et le Programme canadien pour la sûreté et la sécurité a financé de nombreuses initiatives de recherche des divers groupes de travail. « La Plate forme offre à RDDC CSS une excellente occasion d'acquérir une meilleure compréhension de l'environnement de la sûreté et de la sécurité publique, ce qui contribue aux priorités du PCSS », a déclaré M. Mark Williamson.

La Table ronde a également invité l'industrie à parler de leur rôle dans l'établissement de la résilience des communautés du Canada. Des vice-présidents d'IBM et de WalMart ont parlé de la valeur commerciale d'investir dans l'atténuation des catastrophes et de permettre aux employés de contribuer aux efforts de résilience. Le Président directeur général de Global Disaster Innovation Group a mis les participants au défi de penser de façon novatrice, même dans les interventions en cas de catastrophe.

La dernière séance de la journée portait sur l'orientation future de la RRC, à l'échelle nationale et internationale. Une séance de consultation demandait la rétroaction des participants sur l'évolution de la gestion des urgences qui s'orientent vers la résilience des collectivités et sur la façon dont le Canada contribue aux objectifs de l'ONU en matière de RRC.

La Plate-forme du Canada pour la RRC vise à permettre un dialogue ouvert entre les parties intéressées et souhaite recevoir de la rétroaction de ses membres sur les activités précédentes de la Table ronde ainsi que sur d'autres sujets qui servirait de tribune importante pour les membres. La planification de la Table ronde de l'année prochaine est déjà en cours. Veuillez communiquer avec le Secrétariat de la Plate-forme du Canada pour nous faire part de vos idées ou pour savoir comment participer aux travaux de la RRC au Canada.

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur la Plate-forme du Canada, veuillez consulter le site Web de Sécurité publique Canada : http://www.securitepublique.gc.ca.

Le Secrétariat de la Plate-forme du Canada
drr-rrc@ps-sp.gc.ca

613-991-9748

 


Prochaines étapes d’une évaluation tous risques pour les provinces et territoires

Par : Kevin Janes et Richard Gorczyca

L’initiative nationale de gestion du risque d’entreprise dans le secteur public (initiative) a commencé à la fin de 2013 et visait à intégrer une évaluation tous risques (ETR) à un système d’information. L’initiative, qui a pu être réalisée grâce au financement du Programme canadien pour la sûreté et la sécurité (PCSS), est dirigée par le gouvernement du Yukon avec la participation des gouvernements de la Colombie-Britannique, de la Saskatchewan, du Manitoba, de la Nouvelle-Écosse, des Territoires du Nord-Ouest et du Nunavut.

Comment présenter un processus d’ETR aux provinces et aux territoires? Cette question occupe l’esprit de l’équipe de projet, laquelle comprend des membres des gouvernements du Yukon et de la Nouvelle-Écosse, ainsi que de l’entrepreneur de développement des systèmes Make IT Solutions. L’équipe de projet a tenté de dégager un point commun pour la majorité des provinces et des territoires. Ce point commun semblait être un intérêt pour la gestion du risque d’entreprise ou autrement dit, le risque organisationnel. L’équipe de projet a remarqué que le processus d’ETR, par l’entremise des catégories de l’incidence et de la structure du questionnaire, avait permis de surmonter un certain nombre de difficultés associées aux approches traditionnelles d’évaluation du risque. L’harmonisation d’une évaluation du risque d’entreprise (ERE) à une ETR constituait le facteur clé; elle permettrait à tous les gouvernements d’utiliser une approche semblable pour les risques organisationnels et les risques de catastrophe.

L’équipe de projet a aussi reconnu que de nombreux systèmes de gestion des risques agissent uniquement comme répertoire de risques et n’appuient pas nécessairement la facilitation de l’analyse des risques elle-même. Pendant l’initiative, on a beaucoup réfléchi à l’intégration de chaque étape de l’ERE et de l’ETR dans le système, y compris l’établissement du contexte, ainsi que la détermination, l’analyse, l’évaluation et le traitement du risque. De plus, l’équipe de projet a pu améliorer les méthodes de facilitation de l’ETR existante  en concevant le système d’information de manière à les intégrer et à les compléter. Le système comprend une application mobile permettant de sonder les participants à l’évaluation du risque. En intégrant de cette manière le système à la facilitation, le facilitateur peut examiner les résultats du pointage ‘en direct’ pour lancer de vifs débats s’il y a lieu.

L’équipe de projet a aussi examiné des moyens uniques et novateurs d’améliorer  la qualité et l’utilisation du matériel d’instruction (lesquels sont absents de nombreux systèmes). Le processus d’évaluation du risque élaboré et le système d’appui connexe seraient incomplets s’il n’y avait pas de matériel d’instruction rigoureux pour les analystes du risque qui doivent l’utiliser. Un engagement a été pris afin de concevoir un ensemble de didacticiels (screencasts) professionnels sur le système et sur la facilitation de formation, ainsi que d’autre matériel de soutien.

L’exécution d’ETR peut représenter un défi de taille même pour les analystes de risques expérimentés. Toutefois, en utilisant une approche commune pour les évaluations du risque d’entreprise, les analystes du risque des provinces et des territoires devraient trouver l’ETR plus accessible en raison des possibilités de formation commune. Grâce à l’initiative, chaque province et territoire participant aura reçu une formation sur le processus et le système de gestion du risque, un système d’information pour la gestion du risque prêt pour la production et accès au matériel d’instructions.

Kevin Janes est un Analyste des systèmes de gestion pour le gouvernement du Yukon et Richard Gorczyca est le Directeur par intérim de gestion des risques pour le gouvernement du Yukon.

 


L'évaluation des brûlures pour favoriser la guérison du patient

Par: Dr. Michael G. Sowa

Les brûlures ne font pas de discrimination. Du jeune enfant qui fait ses premiers pas incertains dans la cuisine au pompier qui entre dans un immeuble où un incendie fait rage, en passant par le soldat en action dans un théâtre d’opérations, tout le monde est à risque. Ces blessures sérieuses peuvent constituer un danger de mort ou, du moins, avoir de graves conséquences sur la vie.

Les brûlures sont parmi les blessures les plus exigeantes et coûteuses à traiter et à gérer. Lors d’un événement qui entraîne un très grand nombre de blessés, les exigences logistiques pour le traitement des brûlures pourraient dépasser les capacités du Canada. De plus, une évaluation juste et rapide de la blessure permet d’améliorer la guérison et le rétablissement du patient. En cas de brûlure, la principale question à se poser est la suivante : la blessure guérira-t-elle avec un soin approprié des plaies ou une chirurgie est-elle nécessaire? L’établissement d’un pronostic pour ce type de blessure dépend fortement de l’afflux de sang à la plaie. Par exemple, la profondeur de la brûlure est liée à la capacité de guérison. Par contre l’évaluation de ce type de blessure est très difficile. Jusqu’à maintenant il n’existait aucune méthode objective permettant de déterminer la profondeur de la plaie ou son potentiel de guérison. De façon générale, l’approche attentiste est privilégiée. Toutefois, l’attente accentue les risques d’infection, de cicatrisation apparente et de prolongement de la douleur lors de la guérison.

C’est pour cette raison que des cliniciens, des scientifiques, des ingénieurs et des entrepreneurs provenant de l’Hospital for Sick Children à Toronto, du Conseil national de recherches du Canada (CNRC) et de Kent Imaging, avec l’appui de l'Initiative de recherche et de technologie CBRNE et du Programme canadien pour la sûreté et la sécurité, se sont unis pour mettre au point une technologie. Ce projet améliorera considérablement la gestion des brûlures grâce à un traitement rapide et approprié. Cette nouvelle technologie utilise des lasers de pointe et une imagerie médicale d’avant-garde pour distinguer les brûlures superficielles des brûlures profondes en produisant une image sans avoir à effectuer un contact direct. Cela permet au clinicien de savoir si la plaie reçoit un afflux de sang suffisant et de l’oxygène en assez bonne quantité. Il est alors en mesure  de déterminer si une chirurgie est nécessaire ou non.

En solution à certaines difficultés liées à la gestion des blessés, le processus peut se faire en accéléré afin de fournir un soutien sur place pour la gestion de l’incident et améliorer les opérations des centres d’opérations d’urgence, le triage d’urgence et les traitements préhospitaliers, en plus des soins de masse. La technologie peut aussi être utilisée pour évaluer l’état des plaies chroniques, de la circulation périphérique (débit sanguin vers les membres supérieurs et inférieurs du corps et vers la surface de la peau), de la reconstruction chirurgicale et des greffes de tissus.

Le prototype a été construit par Kent Imaging. Il respecte les normes de l’Association canadienne de normalisation concernant les appareils médicaux et Santé Canada a approuvé son utilisation pour les essais expérimentaux à l’Hospital for Sick Children. Le Dr. Joel Fish, directeur médical du centre des grands brûlés de l’hôpital, mènera la première évaluation clinique de cette technologie au printemps 2015. « Les prestataires de brûlures expérimentés ne peuvent pas cerner la profondeur de la brûlure par un simple regard, ce qui résulte dans des délais du traitement ou des sur-traitements », a déclaré le Dr. Fish. « Nous avons reçu le nouveau prototype, nous allons l’utiliser immédiatement en espérant de compléter ‘une validation de concept’ dans les prochains six mois et commencer en même temps une étude scientifique sur la profondeur des brûlures », ajoute Dr. Fish. Le prototype, nommé KC 103, est basé sur le principe de l’oxymétrie (qui mesure la quantité d’oxygène dans le sang). Il a récemment reçu l’approbation 510(k) de la Food and Drug Administration des États-Unis (É.-U.) pour la mise en marché et fait présentement l’objet d’essais cliniques.

En s’appuyant sur ces essais cliniques et les innovations résultant du projet actuel, Kent Imaging concevra une version portable haute résistance qui pourra être déployée à grande échelle dans les environnements cliniques et sur le terrain.

M. Michael G. Sowa est un agent de recherche principal et le chef de groupe du portefeuille Dispositifs médicaux du Conseil national de recherches du Canada.

Date de modification :