Letter to Presidents and CEOs

Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council, Canadian Institutes of Health Research, Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada

Date: July 2017

To: Presidents and CEOs, Eligible Institutions

c.c.: Vice-Presidents of Research, Research Grants and Business Officers

From: Roderick McInnes, Acting President, CIHR
B. Mario Pinto, President, NSERC
Ted Hewitt, President, SSHRC

Subject: Renewal of the Agreement on the Administration of Agency Grants and Awards by Research Institutions

This letter is to advise you of the process to update the Agreement on the Administration of Agency Grants and Awards by Research Institutions ("Agreement") to be signed with eligible research institutions by March 15, 2018.

The Agreement sets out the basic requirements for an institution to obtain and maintain eligibility to administer grant and award funds from the Agencies. The current Agreement is valid until March 31, 2018.

Given the scope of the previous review in 2010-2012, and the fact that little negative feedback has been received from the community, the current revision has focused on precisions, clarifications and responding to changes in policies and practices that have come into effect over the past five years.

On-line consultation on the revised Agreement is taking place over the next few weeks. We invite your institution to review the consultation draft of the revised Agreement, found together with an explanatory background document at http://science.gc.ca/eic/site/063.nsf/eng/h_97401.html, and provide us with a single response (per institution), by completing the questionnaire (also found at https://na1se.voxco.com/SE/?st=rp7h1VeIWJ%2bn9nMP7a7A2NZ69FAGL9fb0cbqGR8AWZ4%3d), by August 25, 2017. Please note that copies of this letter have been sent to other offices within your institution (copied above).

A number of organizations that represent various communities of interest, including Universities Canada, ACAHO, CARA, and CAUBO, have also been invited to provide their input. In the autumn, the Agencies will review the comments received, and prepare a final version to be distributed to institutions in January 2018, for signature by all parties by March 15, 2018.

We wish to affirm our continued commitment to the positive and constructive relationship that we have enjoyed with your institutions and organizations over the years, and look forward to sustaining and strengthening this relationship to support Canada’s excellent research enterprise.

Dr. Roderick McInnes
Acting President
Canadian Institutes of Health Research

Dr. B. Mario Pinto
President
Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council

Dr. Ted Hewitt
President
Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council

Date modified:

Lettre aux présidents et PDG

Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada, Conseil de recherches en sciences humaines du Canada, Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada

Date : Juillet 2017

A : Présidents et PDG, établissements admissibles

C.c. : Vice-recteurs à la recherche, agents des subventions de recherche et responsables des finances

De : Roderick McInnes, président intérimaire, IRSC
B. Mario Pinto, président, CRSNG
Ted Hewitt, président, CRSH

Objet : Renouvellement de l’Entente sur l'administration des subventions et des bourses des organismes par les établissements de recherche

La présente vise à vous informer du processus de mise à jour de l’Entente sur l'administration des subventions et des bourses des organismes par les établissements de recherche (l’entente) devant être conclue avec les établissements de recherche admissibles d’ici le 15 mars 2018.

L’entente présente les exigences fondamentales permettant à un établissement de devenir et de demeurer admissible pour administrer les subventions et les bourses octroyées par les organismes. L’entente actuelle est valide jusqu’au 31 mars 2018.

Compte tenu de la portée de l’examen de 2010-2012 et du peu de commentaires négatifs de la communauté, l’examen actuel visait principalement à préciser et à clarifier des termes, et il permettait de s’adapter aux modifications apportées aux politiques et aux pratiques adoptées au cours des cinq dernières années.

Une consultation en ligne sur l’entente modifiée se tiendra au cours des prochains semaines. Nous invitons votre établissement à prendre connaissance de l’ébauche de l’entente modifiée soumise à la consultation ainsi que du document d’information connexe, que vous trouverez à l’adresse http://science.gc.ca/eic/site/063.nsf/fra/h_97401.html, et à nous fournir une seule réponse (par établissement) en remplissant le questionnaire (qui se trouve aussi à l’adresse https://na1se.voxco.com/SE/?st=rp7h1VeIWJ%2bn9nMP7a7A2NZ69FAGL9fb0cbqGR8AWZ4%3d) d’ici le 25 août 2017. Veuillez noter que des copies de la présente lettre ont été transmises à d’autres personnes au sein de votre établissement (en copie conforme).

Un certain nombre d’organisations représentant diverses communautés d’intérêts, notamment Universités Canada, l’ACISU, l’ACAAR et l’ACPAU, ont également été invitées à présenter des commentaires. À l’automne, les organismes vont examiner les commentaires reçus et préparer la version finale qui sera distribuée aux établissements en janvier 2018; toutes les parties devront avoir signé l’entente d’ici le 15 mars 2018.

Nous désirons réitérer notre engagement continu à l’égard de la collaboration positive et constructive que nous avons entretenue avec vos établissements et organisations au fil des ans, et espérons être en mesure d’entretenir et de renforcer cette relation afin d’appuyer l’excellence de la recherche au Canada.

Dr. Roderick McInnes
Président intérimaire
Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada

Dr. B. Mario Pinto
Président
Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada

Dr. Ted Hewitt
Président
Conseil de recherches en sciences humaines du Canada

Date de modification :