Fourth CSSP Call for Proposals - May 2016

Projects Funded Through the Fourth CSSP Call for Proposals

For more detailed information on select projects, send a request to css-info@drdc-rddc.gc.ca.

Selected Projects

Below is the list of projects selected. Details on the projects will be made available following successful completion of negotiations between project proponents and the Government of Canada.

  1. Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada will lead a project to link data from various governmental and non-governmental laboratories on plant and pest species with risk assessment information generated by the Canadian Food Inspection Agency (CFIA). Partners: Canadian Food Inspection Agency, Canadian Grain Commission, Canada Border Services Agency.
  2. Atomic Energy of Canada Limited (AECL), through Canadian Nuclear Laboratories, will lead a project to determine the feasibility of adapting newly-developed mass spectrometer technology to develop a mobile, faster, and less expensive device for detecting illicit materials for nuclear forensics and emergency response. Partner: Canadian Nuclear Laboratories.
  3. AECL, through Canadian Nuclear Laboratories, will lead a project to investigate different methods and technologies to detect anomalies in industrial control systems, in order to identify intrusions and cyberattacks. Partners: Natural Resources Canada, Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission, Bruce Power.
  4. BC Housing will lead the development of a damage and safety assessment process that will allow communities to rapidly assess the safety of buildings damaged during major emergencies. Partners: Justice Institute of British Columbia, Association of Professional Engineers and Geoscientists of BC.
  5. Ocean Networks Canada will lead a project to create an early earthquake warning alert system. Partners: Ministry of Transportation and Infrastructure, Province of BC, Natural Resources Canada, University of British Columbia, Public Safety, United States Geological Survey, University of Washington.
  6. CFIA will lead a project to enhance the speed and efficiency of data and information sharing among experts involved in responding to plant health emergencies, in order to better prevent and mitigate outbreaks. Partners: Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada, Canadian Grain Commission, Canadian Forest Service, British Columbia Ministry of Agriculture, Ontario Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs, Biodiversity Institute - University of Guelph, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service (US), Alberta Agriculture and Forestry.
  7. Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission will lead a project to further develop Canada’s ability to assess the provenance of nuclear materials to support the mitigation and prevention of their use in criminal activities. Partners: Atomic Energy of Canada Limited, University of Ottawa- Advanced Research Complex, Canadian Nuclear Laboratories, National Research Council.
  8. Communications Research Centre Canada will lead a project to provide local agencies with immediate access to advanced broadband wireless technologies that are compatible with industry standards and interoperable with nationwide roaming. Partners: Motorola Solutions Canada Inc, Ericsson Canada Inc.
  9. The Communications Security Establishment will combine its expertise in information technology with the expertise of Hydro-Québec in operational technology to develop cyber defence methods for power grids. Partners: Hydro-Québec, University of Toronto.
  10. County of Frontenac - Paramedic Service will lead a project to develop a Canadian standard pertaining to ambulance design, equipment, and supplies. Partners: CSA Group (Canadian Standards Association), Dessercom Inc., Paramedic Association of Canada (PAC), Paramedic Chiefs of Canada (PCC), Centre of Research Expertise for the Prevention of Musculoskeletal Disorders (CRE-MSD- University of Waterloo).
  11. County of Lambton - Emergency Medical Services will lead a project aiming to identify vulnerable populations during emergencies and crises, and create a map-based database, including individuals’ location and needs. Partners: Interdev Technologies, Grey County Paramedic Services, Essex-Windsor Emergency Medical Services, South West Community Care Access Centre
  12. DRDC will lead a project to further develop the Rapid City Planner, a tool used to predict the impact of explosions in urban settings using blast modelling. Partners: Public Safety Canada, Royal Canadian Mounted Police, Martec Limited, University of Waterloo.
  13. Employment and Social Development will lead a project to enhance existing tools and processes used by fire departments to recruit and retain fire fighter and first responder volunteers from currently underutlized groups. Partner: Social Research and Demonstration Corporation.
  14. Government of Yukon Emergency Measures Organization will lead a project to test, develop, and analyze modern public safety broadband network (high-speed internet) technology that will enhance the way first responders communicate during emergencies. Partners: Simon Fraser University, Emergency Management British Columbia, E-Comm.
  15. Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada will lead a project applying new knowledge and technologies to develop a prototype for privacy-respecting collaborative risk assessment and early screening in air travel. Partners: Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA), WorldReach Software Corporation, University of Ottawa, Entrust Datacard, Face4 Systems Inc.
  16. Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada will lead a project to develop a strategy to enhance resilience in Indigenous communities in the creation of a strategy for societal resilience by involving emergency management stakeholders. Partners: The Conference Board of Canada; Department of Municipal and Community Affairs- Government of the Northwest Territories; Keewaytinook Okimakanak
  17. Municipality of Kincardine Fire and Emergency Services will conduct a collaborative study with rural partners to develop a toolbox to optimize their communications interoperability and assist the region in becoming more resilient. Partners: Town of Saugeen Shores Fire Department, Bruce Power, Lansdowne Technologies Inc.
  18. Natural Resources Canada (NRCan) will lead a project to create a web application in the form of a visual map illustrating seismic and flood risk analyses to advance knowledge and understanding of vulnerability to natural hazards. Partners: Ministère de la Sécurité publique Québec, Ville de Gatineau, École de technologie supérieure
  19. NRCan will lead a project to develop a series of Canada-wide maps illustrating fire risk and characteristics, as well as fuel resources to help fire management agencies identify and prioritize at-risk areas. Partners: University of Alberta, University of Toronto, Institute for Catastrophic Loss Reduction (ICLR), Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources and Forestry- Aviation, Forest Fires and Emergency Services.
  20. Nova Scotia Emergency Management Office will lead a project to develop a prototype game-based tactical decision tool to train emergency managers on how to better handle coastal city evacuation processes. Partners: MacEachen Institute for Public Policy and Governance, Dalhousie Transportation Collaboratory, Halifax Regional Municipality, REDspace
  21. NRCan will lead a project to develop a tool that provides alerts and warnings for ice jams at the regional level. Partners: INRS - Centre Eau Terre Environnement, Institut National de la Recherche Scientifique, Ministère de la sécurité publique du Québec / Public Security Quebec, Public Safety Canada Quebec and Nunavut Region / Government of Canada, Environment and Climate Change Canada / Canadian Meteorological Centre.
  22. Canadian Coast Guard will lead a project to enhance Canada’s ability to monitor small and large vessel activity on the Great Lakes. Partners: Accipiter Radar Technologies Inc., United States Coast Guard, Key Lakes Inc./Great Lakes Fleet, Canada Steamship Lines, American Steamship Company, Fednav
  23. Prime Corp from the Province of B.C. will lead a project to integrate a new system of credential management into existing applications in B.C.’s police force to cut down on time spent logging in multiple user accounts. Partners: Versaterm Corporation, Abbotsford Police Department, New Westminster Police Department, Emergency Communications for British Columbia Incorporated
  24. The Royal Canadian Mounted Police (RCMP) will lead a project to improve ship detection, particularly that of smaller, radio-silent ships. Partners: Fisheries and Oceans Canada, Transport Canada, UrtheCast Corporation
  25. The RCMP will lead a project to advance researchers’ understanding of the relationships between youth recruitment strategies on-line and off-line, and how these contribute to the formation of communities.  Partners: The Students Commission of Canada - Queen’s University, Brock University, Humber College, Bishop’s University.
  26. Windsor Police Services will lead a study examining advanced analytics and data visualization software that caters to law enforcement. Partners: International Data Corporation (Canada) Limited, Birch Forest Projects Inc., Vancouver Police Department
Date modified:

Quatrième ronde de projets dans le cadre de l’appel de propositions du PCSS - mai 2016

Projets financés dans le cadre du quatrième appel de propositions du PCSS

Pour plus d’information détaillée sur certains projets, envoyez une demande à css-info@drdc-rddc.gc.ca.

Projets retenus

La liste des projets retenus apparaît ci-dessous. Les détails des projets seront rendus public lorsque les négociations entre les promoteurs de projets et le gouvernement du Canada auront mené à une entente.

  1. Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada dirigera un projet visant à établir un lien entre les données de divers laboratoires gouvernementaux et non gouvernementaux sur les espèces de plantes et d’organismes nuisibles et les renseignements contenus dans les évaluations des risques produites par l’Agence canadienne d’inspection des aliments (ACIA). Partenaires: Agence canadienne d’inspection des aliments, Commission canadienne des grains, Agence des services frontaliers du Canada.
  2. Énergie atomique du Canada limitée (EACL), par l’entremise de Laboratoires Nucléaires Canadiens, dirigera un projet visant à déterminer s’il est possible d’adapter une technologie de spectromètre de masse récemment mise au point pour créer un outil mobile, plus rapide et moins coûteux pour détecter des matérieux illicites pour la detection de matières illicites dans le domaine de l’expertise judiciaire nucléaire et la réponse d’urgence. Partenaire: Laboratoires nucléaires canadiens.
  3. EACL dirigera, par l’entremise de Laboratoires Nucléaires Canadiens, un projet d’enquête sur diverses méthodes et technologies pour détecter les anomalies dans les systèmes de contrôle industriels afin de repérer les intrusions et les cyberattaques. Partenaires: Ressources naturelles Canada, Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire, Bruce Power.
  4. BC Housing dirigera l’élaboration d’un processus d’évaluation des dommages et de la sécurité qui permettra aux collectivités d’évaluer rapidement le degré de sécurité des immeubles endommagés lors d’urgences de grande ampleur. Partenaires: Justice Institute of British Columbia, Association of Professional Engineers and Geoscientists of BC.
  5. Oceans Network Canada mènera un projet visant la création d’un système d’alerte rapide en cas de tremblement de terre. Partenaires: Ressources naturelles Canada, Université de Colombie-Britannique, Sécurité publique, United States Geological Survey, University of Washington, Ministère des Transports et des Infrastructures, Province de C.-B.
  6. L’ACIA dirigera un projet pour accroître la vitesse et l’efficacité de l’échange de données et de renseignements entre les experts qui interviennent en cas d’urgence phytosanitaires afin de mieux prévenir et atténuer les éclosions de maladies. Partenaires: Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada, Commission canadienne des grains, Agence des services frontaliers du Canada.
  7. La Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire dirigera un projet visant à renforcer la capacité du Canada de déterminer la provenance des matières nucléaires et radioactives à l’appui de la réduction et de la prévention de leur utilisation dans le cadre d’activités criminelles. Partenaires: Énergie atomique du Canada limitée, Université d’Ottawa – Complexe de recherche avancée, Laboratoires nucléaires canadiens, Conseil national de recherches.
  8. Le Centre de recherches sur les communications Canada mènera un projet visant à fournir aux organismes locaux un accès immédiat à des technologies d’accès sans fil à large bande évoluées compatibles avec les normes de l’industrie et interexploitables en situation d’itinérance à l’échelle nationale. Partenaires: Motorola Solutions Canada Inc, Ericsson Canada Inc.
  9. Le Centre de la sécurité des télécommunications combinera son expertise en technologie de l’information avec l’expertise d’Hydro-Québec sur les technologies opérationnelles pour développer des méthodes de cyberdéfense pour les réseaux électriques. Partenaires: Hydro-Québec, Université de Toronto
  10. Le service ambulancier du comté de Frontenac dirigera un projet pour élaborer une norme canadienne visant la conception, l’équipement et les fournitures des ambulances. Partenaires: Groupe CSA (Association canadienne de normalisation), Dessercom Inc., Association des paramédics du Canada (PAC), Chefs Paramédics du Canada (PCC), Centre of Research Expertise for the Prevention of Musculoskeletal Disorders (CRE-MSD- Université de Waterloo).
  11. Les services médicaux d’urgence du comté de Lambton dirigeront un projet visant à repérer les populations vulnérables en situation d’urgence ou de crise et à créer une base de données fondée des données cartographiques incluant l’emplacement des personnes ainsi que leurs besoins. Partenaires: Interdev Technologies, Grey County Paramedic Services, Essex-Windsor Emergency Medical Services, South West Community Care Access Centre
  12. RDDC dirigera un projet visant à perfectionner le Planificateur urbain rapide, un outil utilisé pour prédire les effets d’explosions en milieu urbain en recourant à la modélisation de l’effet de souffle. Partenaires: Sécurité publique Canada, Gendarmerie royale du Canada, Martec Limited, Université de Waterloo.
  13. Emploi et Développement social Canada dirigera un projet visant à améliorer les outils et les processus utilisés par les services d'incendie pour recruter et garder les pompiers et les premiers intervenants volontaires provenant de groupes actuellement sous-utilisés. Partenaire: Société de recherche sociale appliquée.
  14. Le Bureau des mesures d’urgence du gouvernement du Yukon mènera un projet visant à mettre à l’essai, à perfectionner et à analyser une technologie de réseau à large bande moderne pour la sécurité publique (Internet haute vitesse), ce qui permettra d’améliorer la façon dont les premiers répondants communiquent en situation d’urgence. Partenaires: Université Simon-Fraser, Emergency Management British Columbia, E-Comm
  15. Immigration, Réfugiés et Citoyenneté Canada dirigera un projet visant l’application de nouvelles connaissances et technologies en vue d’élaborer un prototype pour l’évaluation des risques et le dépistage précoce dans le cadre des déplacements aériens en collaboration et dans le respect de la vie privée. Partenaires: Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC), WorldReach Software Corporation, Université d’Ottawa, Entrust Datacard, Face4 Systems Inc.
  16. Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada dirigera un projet consistant à élaborer une stratégie pour accroître la résilience au sein des collectivités autochtones par l’établissement d’une stratégie de résilience sociétale en incluant les partenaires qui contribuent à la gestion des urgences. Partenaires: Conference Board du Canada; ministère des Affaires municipales et communautaires – Gouvernement des Territoires du Nord-Ouest; Keewaytinook Okimakanak.
  17. Le service des incendies et des urgences de la municipalité de Kincardine procédera à une étude en collaboration avec des partenaires du milieu rural en vue d’élaborer une trousse d’outils pour optimiser l’interopérabilité des communications et d’aider la région à devenir plus résiliente. Partenaires: Service d’incendie de la Ville de Saugeen Shores, Bruce Power, Lansdowne Technologies Inc.
  18. Ressources naturelles Canada (RNCan) dirigera un projet visant la création d’une application Web qui prendra la forme d’un schéma illustrant les analyses de risque de séisme et d’inondation pour accroître les connaissances et comprendre la vulnérabilité aux dangers naturels. Partenaires: Ministère de la Sécurité publique Québec, Ville de Gatineau, École de technologie supérieure.
  19. RNCan dirigera un projet visant l’élaboration d’une série de cartes de tout le Canada montrant les risques et les caractéristiques liés aux incendies ainsi que les ressources en carburant afin d’aider les organismes de gestion des incendies à repérer les secteurs à risque et à les classer en ordre de priorité. Partenaires: Université de l’Alberta, Université de Toronto, Institut de prévention des sinistres catastrophiques (IPSC), ministère des Ressources naturelles et des Forêts de l’Ontario – Services d’urgence, d’aviation et de lutte contre les feux de forêt.
  20. Le Bureau de gestion des urgences de la Nouvelle-Écosse mènera un projet visant à élaborer un outil de décision tactique fondé sur le jeu pour former les gestionnaires des urgences afin qu’ils puissent mieux gérer les processus d’évacuation des villes côtières. Partenaires: MacEachen Institute for Public Policy and Governance, Dalhousie Transportation Collaboratory, Municipalité régionale d’Halifax, REDspace.
  21. RNCan dirigera un projet en vue d’élaborer un outil permettant d’émettre des alertes et des avertissements en cas d’embâcle glaciaire à l’échelle régionale. Partenaires: INRS - Centre Eau Terre Environnement, Institut National de la Recherche Scientifique, Ministère de la sécurité publique du Québec, Sécurité Publique Canada de la région du Québec et du Nunavut / Gouvernement du Canada, Environnement Canada/Centre Météorologique Canadien.
  22. La Garde côtière canadienne mènera un projet visant à améliorer la capacité du Canada à surveiller les activités des petits et grands navires sur les Grands Lacs. Partenaires: Accipiter Radar Technologies Inc., United States Coast Guard, Key Lakes Inc./Great Lakes Fleet Inc., Société maritime CSL, American Steamship Company, Fednav.
  23. PrimeCorp de la Province de la Colombie-Britannique mènera un projet consistant à intégrer un nouveau système de gestion des justificatifs d’identité dans les applications existantes des forces policières de la province afin de réduire le temps consacré à la connexion à des comptes d’utilisateur multiples. Partenaires: Versaterm Corporation, Service de police de la Ville d’Abbotsford, Service de police de la Ville de New Westminster, Emergency Communications for British Columbia Incorporated.
  24. La Gendarmerie royale du Canada (GRC) dirigera un projet visant à améliorer la détection des navires, et particulièrement des petits navires, en situation de silence radio. Partenaires: Pêches et Océans Canada, Transports Canada, UrtheCast Corporation.
  25. La GRC mènera un projet visant à permettre aux chercheurs de mieux comprendre les relations entre les stratégies de recrutement des jeunes en ligne et hors ligne ainsi que la contribution de ces jeunes à la formation de collectivités. Partenaires: La Commission des étudiants du Canada- Université Queen’s, Université Brock, Humber College, Université Bishop’s.
  26. Le service policier de Windsor mènera une étude consistant à examiner un logiciel d’analyse poussée et de visualisation des données répondant aux besoins des forces de l’ordre. Partenaires: International Data Corporation (Canada) Limited, Birch Forest Projects Inc., Service de police de la Ville de Vancouver.
Date de modification :