Build your own Volcano

Transcript

Speaker 1: Hey, guys. We're here at the Science.gc.ca Team to bring you cool and exciting science experiments that you and your friends can try at home. Every experiment we provide you can be found online at science.gc.ca, and our seven activity books. Today we'll be exploring the behavior of a volcanic eruption. So let's give it an element of chemistry.

Speaker 2: So what you're going to need is some flour, and you're also going to need vinegar. You also need to grab some salt and liquid detergent, and make sure you also grab some cooking oil. You're going to need baking soda, and some food coloring, just so that you can dye it whatever color you guys are looking for.

Speaker 1: So now that you've bought all your ingredients, you're just going to mix them all together. So we have everything prepared, and now we're just going to mix it up.

Speaker 2: Okay, so now that you're done your batter, you're going to want to take your two-liter pop bottle, and you're going to want to cover it completely with the batter you just made, you can make it and shape it to look like a volcano or whatever you want to, and then we're going to get started with our lava now. So to make the lava, you're going to want to take your food coloring and place it in the bottle. You can put however much or whatever you guys want, and then after that, you're going to put some water. Thank you. So you've got the water in there, now we're going to want to add the detergent. Then once we've done that, we're going to want to put in our baking soda, and you only want to take about two tablespoons of this. So now that you have all your ingredients for the lava except the vinegar, we're going to go ahead and add the vinegar now. Once you add the vinegar, you're going to see it start to, like, bubble over and stuff, and that will be your chemical reaction. Do you want to hold it in place?

Speaker 1: Yeah. Sure.

Speaker 2: Thank you. Before the experiment, how come it erupted like that?

Speaker 1: So when baking soda is mixed with vinegar, a chemical reaction takes place and carbon dioxide is produced, the same gas that bubbles in real volcanoes. Since carbon dioxide is heavier than air, it pushes the air out of the bottle. The detergent in the bottle creates bubbles, and the food coloring adds color to the volcano. Although real volcanoes don't have the same ingredients as the one in this activity, their behavior is somewhat similar.

Speaker 2: So that's actually all the time we have today, but we really hope you learned something interesting and cool about volcanic behavior. If you like this video, be sure to give it a thumbs up, and stay tuned for any future experiments that we do at science.gc.ca. Thanks for watching.

Speaker 1: Bye.

Date modified:

Construis ton propre volcan

Transcription

Personne 1 : Bonjour tout le monde. Nous sommes en compagnie de l’équipe de Science.gc.ca et nous vous proposons des expériences scientifiques intéressantes et cool que vous pouvez essayer à la maison avec vos amis. Chacune des expériences est présentée en ligne sur le Science.gc.ca dans nos sept cahiers d’activités. Aujourd’hui, nous verrons comment se produit l’éruption d’un volcan. Allons-y avec un peu de chimie.

Personne 2 : Il vous faut de la farine et du vinaigre. Il faut aussi du sel, du détergent liquide et de l’huile végétale. Les autres ingrédients sont le bicarbonate de soude et du colorant alimentaire de la couleur de votre choix.

Personne 1 : Vous avez réuni tous les ingrédients, et il faut maintenant tout mélanger. Nous avons déjà tout préparé. Il reste à les mélanger.

Personne 2 : Le résultat est cette pâte. Prenez une bouteille de boisson gazeuse de deux litres et recouvrez-la complètement de la pâte que vous venez de préparer. Vous pouvez lui donner la forme d’un volcan ou toute autre forme de votre choix. On va maintenant préparer la lave. Versez du colorant alimentaire dans la bouteille. Vous pouvez en mettre comme bon vous semble. Ensuite, il faut ajouter de l’eau. Merci. Après avoir vidé de l’eau dans la bouteille, l’étape suivante est d’ajouter du détergent. Par la suite, on y ajoute du bicarbonate de soude. Il en faut environ deux cuillères à table ou 30 millilitres. Tous les ingrédients pour former la lave sont réunis, sauf le vinaigre. Allons-y et ajoutons-le. Lorsque le vinaigre entre en contact avec les autres ingrédients, il commence à former des bulles et le mélange se déverse de la bouteille. C’est la réaction chimique. Veux-tu tenir le volcan?

Personne 1 : Oui, pas de problème.

Personne 2 : Merci. Pourquoi le mélange est-il entré en éruption comme cela?

Personne 1 : Le mélange de bicarbonate de soude et de vinaigre provoque une réaction chimique qui produit du dioxyde de carbone. C’est le même gaz qui bouillonne dans un véritable volcan. Puisque le dioxyde de carbone est plus lourd que l’air, il pousse l’air à l’extérieur de la bouteille. Le détergent fait des bulles et le colorant alimentaire ajoute de la couleur à l’éruption. Les véritables volcans n’ont pas la même composition que celui que nous avons fait, mais ils se comportent un peu de la même façon.

Personne 2 : C’est tout le temps que nous avons. Nous espérons que vous avez appris des choses intéressantes au sujet du comportement d’un volcan. Si vous avez aimé cette vidéo, cliquez sur l’icône du pouce levé. Revenez voir les autres expériences que nous présenterons sur le site Science.gc.ca. Merci d’avoir été à l’écoute.

Personne 1 : Au revoir.

Date de modification :