Make invisible ink

Transcript

Speaker 1: Hey guys!

Speaker 2: Hey guys!

Speaker 1: We're here with the Science.gc.ca Team to bring new cool and exciting science experiments that you and your friends can try at home. These activities can be found online in our seven activity books. Today, we'll be looking at an acids and base reaction by making invisible ink, so let's get in our element with chemistry.

Speaker 2: Invisible ink is used to write hidden messages that are undetectable to the human eye. Discover your inner secret agent by creating and revealing your own hidden message with this fun and simple chemistry experiment.

For this experiment, you're going to need water, grape juice, toothpicks or any other writing utensil, baking soda, a spoon and paper.

Speaker 1: So, to get started, what you're going to want to do is add equal parts baking soda to water. Make sure that the baking soda dissolves well into the water, so that it's not powdery anymore.

Dip the toothpick, cotton swab or other writing utensil into the ink. Write a message on the paper.

Allow the ink to completely dry until it's invisible. Paint over the paper with purple grape juice to reveal your message.

Speaker 2: So, that's all the time we have for today, but we hope you learned some cool things about how to create hidden messages with acids and bases. If you liked the video, be sure to give it a thumb's up and share it with all of your friends. Stay tuned for our next experiment with Science.gc.ca and thanks for watching.

Speaker 1: Bye guys.

Date modified:

Fabriquez de l’encre invisible

Transcription

Personne 1 : Bonjour!

Personne 2 : Bonjour!

Personne 1 : Nous sommes en compagnie de l’équipe de Science.gc.ca et nous vous proposons des expériences scientifiques intéressantes et cool que vous pouvez essayer à la maison avec vos amis. Chacune des expériences est présentée en ligne dans nos sept cahiers d’activités. Aujourd’hui, nous observerons une réaction entre un acide et une base et nous préparerons de l’encre invisible. Nous sommes dans notre élément avec la chimie.

Personne 2 : On utilise l’encre invisible pour rédiger des messages qui passent inaperçus. Découvrez l’espion en vous en écrivant puis en révélant vos propres messages grâce à cette expérience de chimie facile et amusante.

Le matériel nécessaire est de l’eau, du jus de raisin, des cure-dents ou un autre instrument pour écrire, du bicarbonate de soude, une cuillère et du papier.

Personne 1 : Allons-y. Mélangez la même quantité de bicarbonate de soude et d’eau. Assurez-vous que le bicarbonate s’est bien dissous pour que le mélange ne soit pas granuleux.

Plongez le cure-dent, le cure-oreille ou un autre instrument dans l’encre, puis rédigez un message sur la feuille.

Attendez que l’encre soit sèche et que le message disparaisse. Peignez la feuille de papier avec du jus de raisin pour dévoiler le message.

Personne 2 : C’est tout le temps que nous avons. Nous espérons que vous avez appris des choses intéressantes sur la façon de créer des messages cachés à l’aide d’acides et de bases. Si vous avez aimé cette vidéo, cliquez sur l’icône du pouce levé et partagez la vidéo avec vos amis. Revenez voir les autres expériences que nous présenterons sur le site Science.gc.ca. Merci d’avoir été à l’écoute.

Personne 1 : Au revoir.

Date de modification :