Supporting federal science collaboration


Science plays a key role in supporting a vibrant society and a thriving economy in Canada. Scientific advances, from medical breakthroughs to insights that keep our environment clean, improve the health and well-being of Canadians.

The Government of Canada has put together a 25-year strategy that will deliver on its vision to strengthen federal science in Canada. Budget 2018 launched the first phase of this initiative with an investment of $2.8 billion over 5 years to support federal scientists with the important work they do for Canadians.

The initiative signals a forward-looking approach to science planning by fostering innovation and collaboration in world class facilities. The renewed facilities will house modern laboratories and collaborative spaces that are enabled with information technology, tailored to meet the needs of federal scientists, as well as being environmentally sustainable and accessible.

This initiative will increase the government’s ability to attract a diverse range of talented scientists to work alongside federal leaders, and will ensure the government remains at the cutting edge of research and regulatory enforcement for the benefit of all Canadians.

Related information

Date modified:

Appui à la collaboration scientifique à l’échelle fédérale


La science joue un rôle clé dans le soutien d’une société dynamique et d’une économie florissante au Canada. Les progrès scientifiques, des percées médicales aux connaissances qui permettent de garder notre environnement propre, contribuent à améliorer la santé et le mieux-être des Canadiens et leur environnement.

Le gouvernement du Canada a élaboré une stratégie d’une durée de 25 ans qui concrétisera sa vision visant à dynamiser la science dans la sphère fédérale au Canada. Dans le budget de 2018, le gouvernement lançait la première phase de cette initiative en accordant un investissement de 2,8 milliards de dollars sur cinq ans afin d’appuyer les scientifiques fédéraux dans le travail important qu’ils accomplissent pour les Canadiens.

Cette initiative témoigne d’une approche prospective de la planification scientifique permettant de favoriser l’innovation et la collaboration dans des installations de classe mondiale. Les installations rénovées abriteront des laboratoires modernes et des espaces de collaboration dotés d’une technologie de l’information adaptée aux besoins des scientifiques fédéraux, tout en étant accessibles et durables sur le plan environnemental.

Cette initiative permettra d’accroître la capacité du gouvernement d’attirer un ensemble diversifié de scientifiques talentueux qui travailleront aux côtés des dirigeants fédéraux, et fera en sorte que le gouvernement demeure à la fine pointe de la recherche et de l’application des règlements au profit de tous les Canadiens.

Renseignements connexes

Date de modification :