Aquaculture Research: Integrated Multi-Trophic Aquaculture (IMTA)

Transcript

Narrator: "...Fisheries and Oceans Canada - or DFO - is researching new and innovative approaches that support the sustainable development of this country's aquaculture industry.

"...Dr. Shawn Robinson at St. Andrews Biological Station, New Brunswick... and Dr. Chris Pearce at the Pacific Biological Station in Nanaimo BC...are DFO scientists involved in this research...they've been investigating various aspects of Integrated Multi-Trophic Aquaculture - or IMTA – as a new model of aquatic food production, based on the concept of recycling."

"...Robinson's work on IMTA began in collaboration with University of New Brunswick professor, Dr. Thierry Chopin.  It soon involved industry partners, research institutions and Universities from coast to coast. But what exactly is IMTA?”

Dr. Shawn Robinson: "...IMTA is a reasonably complicated way of just saying, mixed farming. It involves the, the culture of a number of different species together, but not just randomly chosen: each species basically has a function and a relationship to the other one.”

Dr. Chris Pearce: “Usually the main species is some sort of fed fin-fish species like salmon, or Sablefish.
Then you would have plants like kelps that would take up the dissolved inorganic nutrients. You would have filter feeders like mussels, clams, cockles, oysters that would take up the fine particulate material.

And then you would have the deposit-feeding species like cucumbers, sea urchins, worms, that would be directly underneath the farm, that would take up the larger particulate organic material.”

Narrator: "...Much research has already been done on the seaweeds and filter feeders of the IMTA model...however, researchers are now turning their attention to the deposit-feeder species, and their potential value for extracting fish waste and excess feed pellets.”

Dr. Robinson: “…and that's the important group for, for the environmental side of things, because that's where most of the organics are that are hitting the bottom which are causing the nutrification or the nutrient enrichment of the, the bottom sediments, mostly in the zone just within the leases of the aquaculture cage, but those are the ones we want to try and capture, and that's where these new species are coming in.

So, one of the species that we've been focusing on, as having a reasonable amount of potential, is one of these extractive species, and the benefit component are sea cucumbers.”

Narrator: “To determine how effectively various deposit feeder species can recycle fish waste within an IMTA system, research projects were conducted by Masters students on both East and West coasts through the auspices of the Canadian IMTA Network, Under Dr. Robinson's supervision, Masters student Emily Nelson recently completed her studies of the Northern Sea Cucumber at the St. Andrews Biological Station.”

Emily Nelson: “I just finished my research, and it's really, really promising. One of the things we've been finding is that these sea cucumbers are capable of consuming the aquaculture waste, we were able to show that both in a laboratory setting and when they're feeding directly at an aquaculture site. 
And also we were able to, to show that they're really efficient at absorbing organic material, so they're absorbing between 79 and 85% of the organic material in every food that they're consuming. So, in terms of IMTA, they're going to be very, very efficient, and they're showing a lot of potential, so there's a lot of interest.”

Narrator: "...at the Pacific Biological Station, and under the supervision of Dr. Chris Pearce, grad student Lindsay Orr studied a number of West Coast deposit feeders, including the California sea cucumber...”

Lindsay Orr: “So these species will shovel the sediment into their mouth, using their radial tentacles, and digest the food. And in my studies I did find that they do ingest the Sablefish waste, and they will absorb organic material from the Sablefish waste. So, this is promising, because these are candidate species that we are hoping to co-culture with Sablefish in British Columbia…”

Narrator: "...IMTA in Canada is still in the developmental stage, but field trials are showing promising results

Dr. Pearce: “in the sea cucumber cages underneath the farm, the amount of organic material was reduced in relation to the amount of organic material in the control cages, suggesting that the cucumbers were taking up the organic material.

Narrator: "...But IMTA deposit feeders are not only chosen for their ability to recycle the nutrients and wastes in and around fish farms - they are also selected for their market value...”

Dr. Robinson: “…One of the features of IMTA, is that it's not just about production, and it's not just about the, the environmental sensitivity, or the greenness of the, of the approach, I mean, it has all that, but it, it's also about the economics behind it. And, and one of the ways of, of helping industry involve is to give them a solution that ultimately doesn't cost them money but actually adds to their bottom-line at the end of the year.”

Dr. Pearce: “So, there's one company on the West Coast of Canada that's currently involved in IMTA commercially, and that is Sea Vision Group Incorporated, that's headed up by Dr. Steven Cross.”

Dr. Steven Cross: “Basically, the, the collaboration that we have, have had with DFO, and continue to, to share, is, is largely through their, their scientists, and, and through a shared graduate student, or two or three. So we, we actually collaborate in design of experiments.

One of the benefits of doing a multi-species model, is that you're, you're capitalizing on the ability of  the animals that you select to serve in an ecological role  but at the same time if you look at it from a  business sense, for every scoop of feed that you throw into the cages, you are getting more bang for  your buck, I mean, and most of it goes into the fish, that which is released to the environment is intercepted, extracted, and converted into additional species. So, we're actually getting more valued product for, for every scoop of feed…”

Narrator: "...And the market value of species such as the California Red Sea Cucumber, is increasingly significant, especially in Asian markets...”

Dr. Cross: “…we are, are tapping into the market on the other side of the Pacific, and, and we can't, we won't be able to produce enough to really satisfy that kind of a marketplace.”

Narrator "...on the East coast of Canada in New Brunswick, Cooke Aquaculture is a key industry leader in collaborative IMTA research - they are already using the results of this research on a commercial scale to produce and market IMTA products in Canada…

... So what does the future hold for this approach? Will IMTA change the shape of the aquaculture industry?”

Dr. Pearce: “I think you will see more and more commercial-scale farms moving towards IMTA in the future, it's not only ecosystem-friendly, but you're also economically advantaged by having these numerous species on site that are marketable.”

Narrator: “...Fisheries and Oceans Canada is continuing to study Integrated Multi-Trophic Aquaculture as one possible solution for a balanced approach to ecosystem management – one that offers potential benefits for growers, the environment, and for Canadians.”

For more information, visit:   www.dfo-mpo.gc.ca 

Special thanks to:

Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada (NSERC)

The Canadian Integrated Multi-Trophic Aquaculture Network (CIMTAN) and its Scientific Director Dr. Thierry Chopin, Professor, University of New Brunswick, as well as the scientists and graduate students who have contributed to this important research under CIMTAN

University of New Brunswick, University of Victoria, and Vancouver Island University

Graduate students Emily Nelson and Lindsay Orr

Dr. Stephen Cross, Founder and CEO, SEA Vision Group Inc.

Cooke Aquaculture Inc.

Fisheries and Oceans Canada’s Aquaculture Collaborative Research and Development Program (ACRDP)

Fisheries and Oceans Canada Scientists, Dr. Chris Pearce and Dr. Shawn Robinson    

The Pacific Biological Station and the St. Andrews Biological Station

Video Production Team

Production and Direction: Stonehaven Productions, Michael Taylor and Scott Mason
Project Management (DFO): Tara Donaghy and Emily Nelson
Illustration of IMTA conceptual model:Joyce Hui

Special thanks to Ryan Leblanc (St. Andrews, New Brunswick) for generously providing the music

©Her Majesty the Queen in Right of Canada, 2013

Date modified:

Recherche sur l’aquaculture : Aquaculture multitrophique intégrée (AMTI)

Transcription

Pêches et Océans Canada cherche de nouvelles approches novatrices qui favorisent le  développement durable de l'industrie aquacole au pays.
M. Shawn Robinson, à la Station biologique de St. Andrews, au Nouveau-­Brunswick...et M. Chris Pearce, à la Station biologique du Pacifique, à Nanaimo, en Colombie-Britannique...sont des  scientifiques de Pêches et Océans Canada qui prennent part à ces travaux de recherche. Ils étudient les divers aspects de l'aquaculture multitrophique intégrée, ou AMTI, comme nouveau modèle de production d'aliments d'origine aquatique, fondé sur le concept du recyclage.

 Les travaux de M. Robinson sur l'AMTI ont débuté en collaboration avec le professeur Thierry Chopin de l'Université du Nouveau-Brunswick.

Bien vite, des partenaires de l'industrie, des établissements de recherche ainsi que des universités de partout au pays ont commencé à participer à ces travaux de recherche. Mais, en quoi consiste l'AMTI, exactement?

M. Shawn Robinson: « ... AMTI est une appellation passablement compliquée pour désigner l'élevage mixte. Ce type d'élevage fait référence à l'élevage collectif de différentes espèces.

Toutefois, ces dernières ne sont pas sélectionnées au hasard : chaque espèce a fondamentalement une fonction et est reliée aux autres. »

M. Chris Pearce: « Les espèces principales sont généralement des poissons qui ont besoin d'un apport en nourriture comme le saumon ou la morue charbonnière.  Viennent ensuite les plantes telles que les laminaires, qui absorbent les éléments nutritifs inorganiques dissous.

Il y a les organismes filtreurs telles la moule, la palourde, la coque et l'huître, qui détruisent les fines particules de matière. Finalement, on retrouve les espèces limivores telles que les holothuries, les oursins et les vers, qui se trouvent directement en dessous de la ferme d'élevage et absorbent la matière organique particulaire plus grosse. »

De nombreux travaux de recherche ont déjà été effectués à l'égard des algues marines et des filtreurs du modèle d'AMTI. Toutefois, les chercheurs se penchent maintenant sur les espèces limivores, et leur valeur potentielle pour ce qui est de l'extraction des déchets de poisson et des aliments en granulés excédentaires.

S. Robinson: « …et maintenant, nous commençons à nous intéresser aux organismes limivores. Ce groupe est celui  ayant de l'importance au niveau de l'environnement, car il est composé d'organismes qui absorbent la  majeure partie de la matière déposée sur le fond, qui entraîne la nutrification, c'est-à-dire l'enrichissement en nutriments des sédiments du fond, surtout dans la zone se trouvant dans le périmètre de la cage d'aquaculture. Ce sont ces sédiments que nous souhaitons tenter de capturer.

Pour ce faire, nous faisons appel à ces nouvelles espèces.  Ainsi, l'une des espèces que nous avons étudiées présente un potentiel raisonnable et fait partie de ces espèces d'extraction qui présentent des avantages : il s'agit de l'holothurie. »

Pour déterminer dans quelle mesure les diverses espèces limivores peuvent efficacement recycler les déchets de poisson dans un système d'AMTI, des projets de recherche ont été menés par des étudiants à la maîtrise tant sur la côte est que sur la côte ouest du pays...sous les auspices du Réseau canadien d'aquaculture multitrophique intégrée. Sous la supervision de M. Robinson, l'étudiante à la maîtrise Emily Nelson a récemment achevé son étude de l'holothurie du nord à la Station biologique de St. Andrews...

Emily Nelson: « Et bien, je viens de terminer ma recherche. Celle-ci est vraiment très prometteuse. Nous avons notamment découvert  que ces holothuries sont capables de consommer les déchets de l'aquaculture. Nous avons été en mesure de démontrer ce fait à la fois en laboratoire et lorsque les holothuries se nourrissent directement dans un site aquacole. Nous avons également pu établir qu'elles absorbent la matière organique de façon très efficace : les holothuries éliminent entre 79 et 85 % de la matière organique de chaque aliment qu'elles consomment. Ainsi, sur le plan de l'AMTI, elles s'avèrent extrêmement efficaces. Elles font également preuve d'un énorme potentiel. Les holothuries suscitent donc beaucoup d'intérêt. »

À la Station biologique du Pacifique, sous la supervision de M. Chris Pearce, Lindsay Orr, étudiante diplômée, a étudié un certain nombre d'organismes limivores sur la côte ouest, y compris l'holothurie du Pacifique... 

Lindsay Orr: « Ainsi, ces espèces ingèrent les sédiments à l'aide de leurs tentacules radiaux, puis digèrent la nourriture. À travers mes recherches, j'ai également découvert que les holothuries ingèrent les déchets de la morue charbonnière et absorbent la matière organique contenue dans ceux-ci. Les résultats sont donc prometteurs : ce sont des espèces candidates que nous espérons élever collectivement avec la morue charbonnière de la Colombie-Britannique. »

Au Canada, l'AMTI se trouve toujours à un stade de développement, mais les essais sur le terrain  montrent des résultats prometteurs... 

C. Pearce: « Dans les cages pour holothuries situées sous la ferme d'élevage, la quantité de matière organique était réduite, comparativement à la quantité de matière organique contenue dans les cages de contrôle. Cela laisse supposer que la matière organique a été absorbée par les holothuries. »
Toutefois, les organismes limivores de l'AMTI ne sont pas seulement choisis pour leur capacité à recycler les éléments nutritifs et les déchets du milieu des exploitations aquacoles; ils sont aussi choisis pour leur valeur marchande... 

S. Robinson: « …L'une des caractéristiques de l'AMTI est qu'elle ne tient pas compte uniquement de la production. Il ne s'agit pas seulement de la sensibilité environnementale ou du caractère écologique de l'approche. Je veux dire, celle-ci présente toutes ces caractéristiques. C'est également une question de l'économie qui s'y rattache.

L'une des façons de favoriser la participation de l'industrie est d'offrir à celle-ci une solution qui, au bout du compte, ne lui coûtera rien et donnera un meilleur résultat net à la fin de l'exercice. » 

C. Pearce: « Il y a une entreprise de la côte Ouest du Canada qui pratique actuellement l'AMTI à des fins  commerciales. Il s'agit du groupe Sea Vision Group Incorporated, dirigé par Steven Cross. »

M. Steven Cross: « Fondamentalement, la collaboration que nous avons entretenu avec MPO et que nous poursuivons aujourd'hui passe surtout par les scientifiques de cette entreprise et par un étudiant diplômé que nous partageons; quelques fois nous en avons deux ou trois.
Ainsi, en fait, nous collaborons dans la conception des expériences, en tant que membre de l'industrie L'un des avantages de créer un modèle plurispécifique est, bien sûr, que l'on met à profit la capacité des animaux choisis pour jouer un rôle écologique,...toutefois, en même temps, si l'on regarde la question d'un point de vue administratif, pour chaque pelletée de nourriture que l'on jette dans les cages, on accroît la rentabilité.
Je veux dire, la majeure partie de cette nourriture aboutit dans le poisson, mais ce qui est relâché dans l'environnement est intercepté, extrait, puis transformé en d'autres espèces. Ainsi, plus nous jetons de pelletées de nourriture, plus la valeur du produit est grande. »
Et la valeur marchande d'espèces comme l'holothurie (rouge) du Pacifique est de plus en plus importante, particulièrement sur le marché asiatique...

S. Cross: « …Nous voulons nous introduire dans le marché de l'autre côté du Pacifique, mais nous ne pouvons le faire. Notre production ne nous permet par de répondre réellement aux besoins de ce type de marché. »

Sur la côte est du Canada, au Nouveau-Brunswick, Cooke Aquaculture est un chef de file clé de l'industrie dans la recherche collaborative sur l'AMTI. L'entreprise utilise déjà les résultats des travaux de recherche à l'échelle commerciale afin de produire et de commercialiser des produits d'AMTI au Canada… 

Que nous réserve donc l'avenir quant à cette approche? L'AMTI changera­t­elle le visage de l'industrie aquacole?

C. Pearce: « Je pense qu'avec le temps, on verra de plus en plus d'exploitations d'élevage d'envergure commerciale  adoptant l'AMTI celle-ci n'est pas uniquement bonne pour l'écosystème; on y tire également un avantage économique, en ayant ces nombreuses espèces commercialisables sur place. » 

Pêches et Océans Canada continue d'étudier l'AMTI comme l'une des solutions possibles favorisant une approche équilibrée de gestion des écosystèmes : une approche qui offre des avantages potentiels pour les producteurs, l'environnement ainsi que la population canadienne.

Nous remercions :
le Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada (CRSNG)

le Réseau canadien d’aquaculture multitrophique intégrée (RCAMTI) et son directeur scientifique, M. Thierry Chopin, professeur à l’Université du Nouveau­Brunswick, ainsi que les scientifiques et étudiants diplômés qui ont contribué à cet important projet de recherche du RCAMTI

l’Université du Nouveau­Brunswick, l’Université de Victoria, et l’Université de l’île de Vancouver

Emily Nelson et Lindsay Orr (étudiantes diplômées)

Stephen Cross, fondateur et président­directeur général, SEA Vision Group Inc.

Cooke Aquaculture Inc.

le Programme coopératif de recherche et développement en aquaculture (PCRDA) de Pêches et Océans Canada

les chercheurs de Pêches et Océans Canada :
Chris Pearce
Shawn Robinson

la Station biologique du Pacifique et la Station biologique de St. Andrews

Équipe de production

Production et réalisation : Stonehaven Productions
Michael Taylor, Scott Mason
Gestionnaires de projet (Pêches et Océans Canada) : Tara Donaghy et Emily Nelson
Illustration du Modèle conceptuel d’un système d’AMTI :Joyce Hui

Un grand merci à Ryan Leblanc (St. Andrews, Nouveau­Brunswick) pour avoir généreusement fourni la musique

© Sa Majesté la Reine du Chef du Canada, représentée par Pêches et Océans Canada, 2013

Date de modification :