Virology Laboratory

Virology and vaccine research

Immunization and vaccines have contributed greatly to preventing diseases and improving health. Each year, new vaccines are developed to help protect against certain diseases. At the Centre for Vaccine Evaluation (CVE), scientists have developed expertise in various new scientific techniques that help provide new tools for evaluating vaccines.

 

Why we study viruses and vaccines

We are exposed to viruses every day. Some are harmful to humans and some are not. To identify which viruses have the potential to cause diseases and how to prevent them from causing harm to people, scientists at the Centre for Vaccine Evaluation (CVE) examine information from different fields. They look at trends from population statistics and computer analyses, as well as detailed cellular and molecular data. Recent advances in technology provide valuable new approaches and tools for investigating how viruses change and evolve. Technology helps identify the mode of action and properties of viruses, so that scientists can design strategies to prevent them from causing disease. Vaccines are developed to help the body protect itself from viruses. By understanding what viruses do to the body and how vaccines work, we can obtain valuable information on improving, developing and evaluating vaccines.

 

How we study viruses and vaccines

At the Centre for Vaccine Evaluation (CVE), scientists investigate a wide range of health questions relating to viruses, vaccines and immune responses against viruses. For instance, in collaboration with other scientists, they have identified key parts of the influenza virus and developed reagents that help Health Canada quickly and effectively test new influenza vaccines. The scientists use techniques from fields such as molecular and cell biology, as well as medicine and bioinformatics. The team conducts scientific research in various areas including the molecular structure of viruses and vaccines, and the genetic profile of viruses. They also develop methods to detect pathogens that cause disease and investigate immune responses against these pathogens.

Some highlights of the research in this area include:

  • Investigating the molecular structure of viruses and the mechanisms underlying viral diseases to provide insights into new ways to prevent and treat infectious diseases;
  • Developing innovative methods for evaluating the vaccines that Health Canada and other governments regulate for safety and efficacy.

 

Concepts and tools we use to study viruses and vaccines

Virology is the study of viruses and viral diseases. In this broad field, the Centre for Vaccine Evaluation (CVE) works to characterize the growth, culture and structure of viruses. The Centre's scientists perform research to answer questions such as:

  • How do viruses interact with, and infect, organisms?
  • How do genetic changes in viruses impact the ability of a virus to cause a disease?
  • How do viruses evolve?
  • Can viruses be used for therapeutic applications?

Viruses are tiny infectious agents that need a living host cell in order to be active and replicate. They can vary greatly in shape, but are typically composed of genetic material in the form of DNA or RNA. This genetic material is protected by a protein coat and, in some cases, a protective fatty envelope. The study of viruses and virus-like agents can be challenging as it applies knowledge and techniques from various fields such as genetics, cell and molecular biology, immunology, pathology, genomics and proteomics.

Scientists use bioinformatics to examine molecular data. This is considered to be a powerful approach for examining the complex issues of virology. With bioinformatics, they can screen and study large sets of data to analyse the composition and structure of viruses, proteins, DNA and RNA. Sorting through these complex data helps them understand how viruses function, evolve and change. Scientists learn how the viruses interact with other organisms, and they study patterns to see relationships between structure and function. Research from molecular biology, bioinformatics and other fields generate valuable information for developing methods for diagnosing, treating and preventing viral diseases, as well as potential therapeutic applications of viruses. For example, by looking at the structure and function of components of viruses, scientists can identify sites that may represent the basis for potential vaccines and functions that may respond to anti-viral treatments.

At the Centre for Vaccine Evaluation (CVE), scientists carry out research on various types of vaccines and find new tools to analyse them. Vaccines are designed to contain antigenic components that help the immune system identify later infection by those same bacteria and viruses, so that the body can fight them off more effectively. In the case of viruses, vaccines contain structural components of the virus that stimulate the immune system to produce antibodies that recognize them. Then, if a person is later exposed to this virus, the antibodies are ready to help the immune system rapidly destroy and eliminate the virus.

Vaccines can be administered using different delivery methods. For example, health professionals can deliver vaccines to patients through injection by using a needle and syringe. In recent years, new ways to deliver vaccines have been developed. These include using nasal spray devices to deliver vaccines for influenza and similar respiratory diseases.

 

Research highlight 1: Universal influenza antibody - a key ingredient for developing and testing vaccines

Influenza is a common respiratory infection caused by certain strains of influenza viruses. Vaccines are generated to help prevent influenza infection. Since there are many different influenza viruses and since they quickly change and evolve, new vaccines must always be generated to protect against different types and strains of influenza. For example, to prevent the common seasonal flu, vaccines for specific strains of influenza A and B viruses are developed each year. Developing high quality vaccines can take at least three to four months, as it is challenging to generate the necessary reagents and testing methods to assess the vaccine. Nonetheless, for the seasonal influenza, vaccines can be planned a few months in advance. Responding to an unexpected influenza pandemic is much more challenging, as a pandemic outbreak can develop quickly.

In our laboratory, we address these challenges by using our expertise to investigate influenza viruses and identify alternative ways to develop and test vaccines. Our group has identified a part of the influenza virus that is unchanged for all influenza strains. This means that every influenza virus contains a part that does not change between different strains or over time. By studying this highly conserved region, we developed antibodies directed against it and developed so-called "universal" reagents for testing influenza virus strains and vaccines. Our findings represent a significant advance in preparing for an influenza pandemic.

We are working to:

  • Improve quality testing of influenza virus strains and vaccines;
  • Apply our research to developing universal assays for influenza vaccines;
  • Contribute key findings to prepare for an influenza pandemic.

 

Research highlight 2: Live viral vaccines - weakened viruses as effective vaccines

There are many different ways to produce vaccines. Some viral vaccines may contain killed or inactivated whole viruses, while others contain only parts of the virus.  Still other viral vaccines consist of live "attenuated" or weakened forms of the virus. For some infectious diseases, such as polio, live attenuated viruses make very good vaccines because they induce a robust and protective immune response. Yet another type of vaccine takes advantage of a second live virus, such as adenovirus which is known to be safe for humans, to deliver the active vaccine component. In our laboratory, we investigate these live viral vaccines, their effect on the immune system, and the use of adenovirus to deliver them for effective vaccination.

We are working to:

  • Provide greater understanding of live and attenuated viral vaccines;
  • Contribute information to enhance scientific evaluation of the safety and efficacy of vaccines delivered by live attenuated viruses.

For information about the lead scientist of this laboratory, please visit their  Directory of Scientists and Professionals profile.

Date modified:

Laboratoire de virologie

Virologie et recherche sur les vaccins

L'immunisation et la vaccination ont contribué grandement à prévenir les maladies et à améliorer la santé. Chaque année, de nouveaux vaccins sont mis au point et permettent de protéger les populations contre certaines maladies. Au Centre d'évaluation des vaccins (CEV), les chercheurs ont acquis une expertise dans diverses techniques scientifiques nouvelles qui permettent de créer de nouveaux outils pour évaluer les vaccins.

 

Pourquoi étudions-nous les virus et les vaccins?

Nous sommes exposés tous les jours à des virus. Certains sont nuisibles aux êtres humains, d'autres ne le sont pas. Pour savoir quels virus peuvent provoquer des maladies et comment empêcher que ces virus nuisent aux populations, les scientifiques du Centre d'évaluation des vaccins (CEV) étudient des renseignements provenant de plusieurs domaines. Ils étudient les tendances ressortant des statistiques démographiques et des analyses informatiques, ainsi que des données détaillées de nature cellulaire et moléculaire. Les récents progrès de la technologie proposent de nouvelles approches utiles et des outils pour étudier la façon dont les virus se modifient et évoluent. La technologie permet de définir le mode d'action et les propriétés des virus; de cette façon, les scientifiques peuvent élaborer des stratégies pour les empêcher de causer des maladies. Les vaccins sont élaborés pour aider l'organisme à se protéger contre les virus. En comprenant ce que les virus font dans l'organisme et comment les vaccins fonctionnent, nous pouvons obtenir des renseignements précieux pour améliorer et évaluer les vaccins et en mettre au point de nouveaux.

 

Comment étudions-nous les virus et les vaccins?

Au Centre d'évaluation des vaccins (CEV), les chercheurs étudient une vaste gamme de questions de santé en rapport avec les virus, les vaccins et les réactions immunitaires aux virus. Par exemple, en collaboration avec d'autres scientifiques, ils ont pu établir quelles étaient les composantes essentielles du virus de l'influenza et créer des réactifs qui aident Santé Canada à mettre à l'essai rapidement et efficacement les nouveaux vaccins contre la grippe. Les scientifiques utilisent des techniques issues de la biologie moléculaire et cellulaire, ainsi que de la médecine et de la bio-informatique. L'équipe mène des recherches scientifiques dans différents domaines, que ce soit la structure moléculaire des virus et des vaccins ou le profil génétique des virus. Ils élaborent également des méthodes pour détecter les agents pathogènes à la source de la maladie et analysent les réactions immunitaires déclenchées par ces agents pathogènes. Voici quelques points saillants de la recherche dans ce domaine :

  • Analyser la structure moléculaire des virus et les mécanismes sous-tendant les maladies virales pour trouver de nouvelles façons de prévenir et de traiter les maladies infectieuses;
  • Créer des méthodes novatrices d'évaluation des vaccins que Santé Canada et d'autres gouvernements peuvent utiliser pour réglementer l'innocuité et l'efficacité des vaccins.

 

Concepts et outils utilisés pour étudier les virus et les vaccins

La virologie est l'étude des virus et des maladies virales. Dans ce vaste domaine, le Centre d'évaluation des vaccins (CEV) s'emploie à définir la croissance, la culture et la structure des virus. Les scientifiques du Centre mènent des recherches pour répondre à des questions comme :

  • Comment les virus interagissent-ils avec et infectent-ils les organismes?
  • Comment les modifications génétiques des virus influent-elles sur la capacité d'un virus à causer une maladie?
  • Comment les virus évoluent-ils?
  • Les virus peuvent-ils être utilisés pour des applications thérapeutiques?

Les virus sont de minuscules agents infectieux ayant besoin d'une cellule hôte vivante pour être actifs et se répliquer. Ils peuvent varier grandement pour ce qui est de la taille, mais, généralement, leur matériel génétique est composé d'ADN ou d'ARN. Ce matériel génétique est protégé par une enveloppe de protéine et, dans certains cas, par une enveloppe protectrice graisseuse. L'étude des virus et des agents d'aspect viral peut représenter de grands défis, étant donné qu'elle met en œuvre des connaissances et des techniques issues de différents domaines comme la génétique, la biologie moléculaire et cellulaire, l'immunologie, la pathologie, la génomique et la protéomique.

Les scientifiques utilisent la bio-informatique pour analyser les données moléculaires. Cette  approche est très prometteuse pour l'analyse des problèmes complexes de la virologie. Grâce à la bio-informatique, ils peuvent décortiquer et étudier l'ADN et l'ARN. En triant ces données complexes, ils parviennent à comprendre comment les virus fonctionnent, évoluent et se modifient. Les scientifiques découvrent comment les virus interagissent avec d'autres organismes, et ils étudient les tendances afin d'observer les rapports entre la structure et la fonction. Les recherches en biologie moléculaire, en bio-informatique et dans d'autres domaines permettent d'obtenir des renseignements utiles pour créer des méthodes destinées à diagnostiquer, à traiter et à prévenir les maladies virales, ainsi que pour trouver des applications thérapeutiques possibles aux virus. Par exemple, en étudiant la structure et la fonction des composantes des virus, les scientifiques peuvent trouver des sites constituant peut-être la base de vaccins potentiels et de fonctions pouvant réagir à des traitements antiviraux.

Au Centre d'évaluation des vaccins (CEV), les scientifiques mènent des recherches sur divers types de vaccins et élaborent de nouveaux outils pour les analyser. Les vaccins sont conçus pour contenir des composantes d'antigènes qui aident le système immunitaire à reconnaître par la suite une infection par ces mêmes bactéries et virus, de façon à ce que l'organisme puisse lutter contre eux plus efficacement. Dans le cas de virus, les vaccins contiennent des composantes structurelles du virus qui stimulent le système immunitaire pour produire des anticorps qui les reconnaissent. Si, par la suite, une personne est exposée à ce virus, les anticorps sont prêts à aider le système immunitaire à détruire rapidement le virus et à l'éliminer.

Il est possible d'administrer les vaccins par différentes méthodes. Par exemple, les professionnels de la santé peuvent donner des vaccins à leurs patients par injection en utilisant une seringue et une aiguille. Ces dernières années, de nouvelles façons d'administrer les vaccins ont vu le jour. Il s'agit notamment de dispositifs de vaporisation nasale pour administrer des vaccins contre l'influenza et des maladies respiratoires semblables.

 

Point saillant de la recherche 1: anticorps universel de l'influenza - un ingrédient clé pour élaborer et analyser les vaccins

L'influenza est une infection respiratoire commune causée par certaines souches de virus de l'influenza. Les vaccins sont destinés à prévenir l'infection par l'influenza. Étant donné qu'il existe nombre de types de virus de l'influenza différents et qu'ils se modifient et évoluent rapidement, il faut toujours produire de nouveaux vaccins pour protéger les populations contre différents types et différentes souches d'influenza. Par exemple, pour prévenir la grippe saisonnière, des vaccins sont élaborés chaque année pour des souches précises des virus de l'influenza A et B. Il peut falloir de trois à quatre mois au moins pour produire des vaccins de haute qualité, car la production des réactifs requis et l'élaboration des méthodes d'analyse pour évaluer un vaccin peuvent représenter de grands défis. Néanmoins, en ce qui concerne la grippe saisonnière, il est possible de planifier les vaccins quelques mois à l'avance. Il est plus difficile de répondre à une pandémie d'influenza inattendue, car les éclosions peuvent évoluer rapidement.

Dans notre laboratoire, nous relevons ces défis en utilisant notre expertise pour analyser les virus de l'influenza et trouver de nouvelles façons de créer et d'analyser les vaccins. Notre groupe a identifié une partie du virus de l'influenza commune à toutes les souches d'influenza. Autrement dit,  chaque virus d'influenza  renferme une partie qui ne change pas d'une souche à une autre et n'évolue pas dans le temps. En étudiant cette partie extrêmement conservée, nous avons créé des anticorps dirigés contre elle et produit ce que nous avons appelé des réactifs « universels » pour analyser les souches du virus de l'influenza et les vaccins. Notre découverte représente un progrès important dans la préparation aux pandémies d'influenza.

Voici les grands axes de notre travail :

  • Améliorer l'analyse de la qualité des souches des virus de l'influenza et des vaccins;
  • Appliquer les résultats de nos recherches pour créer des tests bioanalytiques universels  pour l'analyse des vaccins contre l'influenza;
  •  Contribuer des constatations clés à  la préparation à une pandémie d'influenza.

 

Point saillant de la recherche 2: vaccins à virus actif - les virus affaiblis comme vaccins efficaces

Il y a plusieurs façons différentes de produire des vaccins. Certains vaccins antiviraux peuvent contenir des virus entiers morts ou inactifs; tandis que d'autres peuvent contenir   seulement des parties du virus. D'autres vaccins antiviraux se composent également de formes vivantes « atténuées » ou affaiblies du virus. Pour certaines maladies infectieuses, comme la polio, les virus vivants atténués constituent de très bons vaccins, car ils favorisent une réaction immunitaire protectrice vigoureuse. Un autre type de vaccin est composé d'un deuxième virus vivant, comme l'adénovirus, que l'on sait être sans danger chez les humains, qui se charge d'acheminer la composante du virus actif. Dans notre laboratoire, nous étudions les vaccins à virus vivants, leur effet sur le système immunitaire et le recours à l'adénovirus pour les administrer dans le cadre d'une vaccination efficace.

Voici les grands axes de nos travaux :

  • Mieux comprendre les vaccins à virus vivants et atténués;
  • Alimenter les connaissances pour améliorer l'évaluation scientifique de l'innocuité et de l'efficacité des vaccins contenant des virus vivants atténués.

Pour des renseignements au sujet du chercheur scientifique responsable de ce laboratoire, veuillez visiter son  profil dans le Répertoire des scientifiques et des professionnels

Date de modification :