From Science to Sustainability: Sea Scallops in the Maritimes

Suspect

Transcript:

Jessica Sameoto: 

The work that we do is in support of science advice for fisheries management.  So what that means is that we are the ones that go out and get the numbers and provide the numbers and provide the scientific support for how many scallop are out there in the wild that could be caught to support a sustainable fishery.

We work directly with industry from the ground up.  We actually conduct our surveys on industry vessels; we’re on fishing boats when we go to sea to do our survey.

Amy Glass: 

I coordinate the surveys while we’re at sea.  Coordinate the vessel and I’m responsible for all the data collection.  We take this gear and we tow it along the bottom for 8 minutes.  And when we haul it back we pick all of the scallops and count them all no matter if they are small or big, we count them all. 

They also collect the bycatch, like lobster and groundfish etc. and have a bycatch estimate as well.  Everything we collect directly affects every fisherman that’s fishing scallops in the bay.

I literally run between the wheelhouse and the deck to track every tow…. To get the location, depth, we collect temperature and course, so that we can know exactly where they came from and then I oversee the data collection and count with the person I bring with me that provides support. 

Jessica Sameoto:

We then bring them back to the office, bring them back to the lab, we analyze them, we write our reports and them we present them in meetings like as a regional advisory process meeting.  So that’s where industry is there, science is there, fisheries management is there, as well as any other stakeholders or parties interested, such as province, ENGO’s, and then that’s the forum that we   say, this is what we think is there, this is how much you can take for the following year, and then Fisheries Management will then use that information to make a decision in conjunction with input from industry on what the catch level is going to be for the following year. 

Maureen Butler:

We then take that advice and we add other management measures like vessel monitoring systems, we add other things like minimum shell height, we add seasons, we add other things like they have to fill out log books and different things like this and all that goes together into a management plan.  That management plan is how we manage the fishery.

Alain D’entremont:

It has guided us in the past to close areas temporarily to allow the scallops to grow without human interaction.  In other areas we may see that there’s an abundant population of older scallop and we’d like to focus our exploitation in that area instead of on the juvenile’s that are more sensitive so it guides a big part of my life and a big part of how I plan my business. 

Carmen Burnie:

A lot of fishermen want to be just fishermen but I want more knowledge than just what fishing brings me, so I wanted to be part of this and to see how it works see how it helps me to manage my fishery and my business.

Amy Glass:

I get a chance to work with the people that this information directly impacts and in that way, there’s a good feedback loop.  I can help them understand the science and they can help me understand the fishery a little more. 

Carmen Bernie:

You know if I’m borrowing money as an investor I want to be able to know that I’m going to be able to pay that back and through the science process they give us that outlook that it’s going to be there for me to pay back the money I owe.

Amy Glass:

I really like it when what the fishermen see and what we see in our data models and all that stuff … when they match.  And everybody says yup we have the right picture.

Jessica Sameoto:

It means a lot, you know that what you do and how you do your job really makes a difference to somebody else and to their livelihood, to their families, to the future of their fishery.  It’s important work and knowing that I’m having that impact… it means a lot to me and I really enjoy what I do. 

Carmen Bernie:

I sleep a lot better knowing that there’s a team of professionals like this working in my industry.  And what I get to take back to industry and other fishermen as a rep in my area is incredible.  What I can tell people is that the process works, it’s needed, and I enjoy being a part of it.  I enjoy what I’m learning.

Date modified:

De la science à la durabilité: le pétoncle dans les Maritimes

Transcription :

Jessica Sameoto : 

Notre travail appuie les avis scientifiques destinés à la gestion des pêches.  Cela signifie que nous sommes ceux et celles qui offrent des conseils scientifiques et qui vont sur place et évaluent le nombre de pétoncles qui se trouvent dans la nature et qui peuvent être récoltés pour soutenir une pêche durable.

Nous collaborons directement avec l'industrie à tous les niveaux.  En fait, nous partons en haute mer faire nos relevés directement à bord des bateaux de pêche de l'industrie.

Amy Glass : 

Je coordonne les relevés quand nous sommes en mer.  Je coordonne le bateau et je suis responsable de la collecte de toutes les données.  Nous remorquons ce type d'engin sur le fond de la mer pendant 8 minutes.  Lorsque nous le remontons, nous ramassons tous les pétoncles et nous les comptons tous, petits ou gros. 

Nous récoltons aussi des prises accessoires, comme le homard et le poisson de fond, etc., et nous les évaluons.  Tout ce que nous récoltons a un effet direct sur chaque pêcheur qui récolte les pétoncles dans la baie.

Je cours littéralement entre la timonerie et le pont pour suivre chaque remorquage... pour connaître l'emplacement et la profondeur, nous consignons la température et de cap, afin de connaître exactement l'endroit, puis, je surveille la collecte de données et le décompte avec la personne que j'emmène pour m'aider. 

Jessica Sameoto :

Nous les ramenons ensuite au bureau et au labo, nous les analysons, rédigeons nos rapports et présentons le tout aux réunions comme celles sur la consultation régionale.  C'est là que se trouve l'industrie, la science, même la gestion des pêches, ainsi que tous les intervenants ou les parties intéressées, comme les provinces et les ONGE. Puis il y a le forum où nous dévoilons ce que nous pensons avoir trouvé, les quantités qui peuvent être récoltées l'année suivante, puis, la Gestion des pêches utilise l'information fournie pour décider, grâce aux données de l'industrie, de ce qui peut être pêché l'année suivante. 

Maureen Butler :

En utilisant les conseils précédents et en ajoutant d'autres mesures de gestion, comme les systèmes de surveillance des bateaux, nous ajoutons aussi la hauteur de coquille minimale, les saisons, d'autres données qui peuvent être inscrites dans les registres et autres que l'on assemble et qui donnent un plan de gestion.  Ce plan de gestion permet de gérer la pêche.

Alain D’entremont :

Par le passé, cela nous a aidé à fermer temporairement certaines zones pour permettre aux pétoncles de croître sans que l'humain s'en mêle.  En d'autres endroits, il peut y avoir une population abondante de pétoncles plus âgés et ce sont ces endroits que nous voudrions exploiter plutôt que ceux des juvéniles plus sensibles. Ça oriente une bonne partie de mes activités et ma façon de planifier mes affaires. 

Carmen Burnie :

Beaucoup de pêcheurs veulent seulement pêcher mais je veux connaître plus que ce que la pêche m'apporte. J'ai donc souhaité faire partie de ce groupe pour savoir davantage comment cela m'aide à gérer ma pêche et mon entreprise.

Amy Glass :

J'ai l'occasion de travailler avec les personnes qui sont directement touchées par les informations recueillies, ainsi, la rétroaction est excellente.  Je peux les aider à comprendre la science et ils peuvent m'enseigner davantage ce qu'est la pêche. 

Carmen Bernie :

Vous savez, si j'emprunte de l'argent, comme investisseur je veux pouvoir le rembourser. Grâce au processus scientifique, je sais que la ressource est là et que je pourrai rembourser ce que je dois.

Amy Glass :

Ça me fait plaisir quand le pêcheur voit la même chose que nous dans nos modèles de données.  Et tout le monde se dit que nous avons la bonne idée.

Jessica Sameoto :

Vous savez, c'est important de savoir que ce que vous faites et la façon de le faire aident quelqu'un à assurer sa subsistance, celle de sa famille et l'avenir de sa pêche.  C'est un travail important et quand je sais l'effet que j'ai, J'apprécie énormément et j'aime beaucoup ce que je fais. 

Carmen Bernie :

Je dors beaucoup mieux en sachant qu'une telle équipe de professionnels appuie mon industrie.  Et ce que je redonne à l'industrie et aux autres pêcheurs à titre de représentante de mon secteur, c'est incroyable.  Je peux affirmer à tous que ça marche, que c'est nécessaire et que j'aime en faire partie.  J'apprécie ce que j'apprends.

Date de modification :