Ocean Monitoring of Canada’s West Coast

Transcript:

Peter Chandler, Physical Oceanographer, Fisheries and Oceans Canada: “We have about 80 stations in the Strait of Georgia and Juan de Fuca and it takes us about a week to sample all of them. One of the reasons that we undertake this survey, is that we're interested in understanding the oceanography of the region, and by monitoring the ocean we can identify changes that are occurring, which may be indicators of the ecosystem being at risk.”

Marie Robert, Physical Oceanographer, Fisheries and Oceans Canada: “Line P is a series of set locations along a 1,500 kilometre line that stretches west from Vancouver Island. We sail Line P three times per year. The data we collect are used to study ocean climate, to learn about ocean circulation and currents, about the biology in the area, and much more.

Peter Chandler: “The primary instrument that we use is a rosette, which we lower from the stern of the ship. So, as we lower it off the ship and it descends from the surface to the sea floor, the electronic sensors are gathering data on temperature and salinity and fluorescence, all the way down. When it gets to the bottom and we start to raise it, we'll stop.

Peter Chandler: “All right, bring her up to 1-5-0.”

Technician: “1-5-0.”

Peter Chandler: “We'll stay at certain depths of interest, we will snap a bottle that will trap water at that depth and we'll do that at several depths on the way to the surface.”

Technician: (off-screen) “Surface!”

Coast Guard Hoist Operator:  (off-screen) “Rosette at the surface.”

Peter Chandler: “Then, when we get the rosette back on board, we take the water and we sample it into smaller containers, with specific analysis to go to each one.  Some of it is for physical properties like the oxygen, others are chemical properties, like the nutrients, others are biological properties, like the chlorophyll.”

Marie Robert: “More than fifty years of ocean data reveals trends. We've observed gradual ocean warming along Line P, as well as lower oxygen levels in the deep waters along the line.

Peter Chandler:  “To give us an idea of what's living in the ocean, at a microscopic level, we use nets that we tow vertically from the bottom to the surface.  Each year, there's a spring bloom when the plankton take up the nutrients and there's tremendous growth.  And, this is important for the juvenile salmon as they migrate from the rivers through the strait to the ocean because if they can hit the strait when that food supply is abundant, they become healthier before they go into the ocean and that will inform us in years to come when they return to spawn what the fisheries quota might be. And so, with this combination of physical, chemical and biological properties, we hope to build the picture of what are the main processes that are at play in the ocean. We can use this information to develop and validate computer models that try and give us even more information on how the conditions are changing.”

Marie Robert: “In addition to ship sampling, ocean scientists also have the benefit of Argo, an international system of more than three thousand sampling floats.”

Robin Brown, Manager Ocean Sciences Division, Institute of Ocean Sciences, Fisheries and Oceans Canada: “The Argo program is now entering its maturity phase and the data from Argo will be combined with observations from ships and observations from satellites to create a new array of oceanographic information products for use by mariners, industries, government and the public.

Marie Robert: “In the past ten years, the Argo system has helped scientists to understand that the Earth’s oceans are now absorbing a higher proportion of heat from global warming and while this impacts the oceans, it is slowing the warming we observe in the atmosphere.”

Robin Brown:  “So now, oceanographers can do what meteorologists have been doing for many decades: track for the first time the movement of water and ocean properties in the global ocean, without having to use extremely expensive research vessels and being able to go in places and work in weather that would be inaccessible for those ships.”

Fisheries and Oceans Canada: Monitoring the Health of Our Oceans

Learn more about ocean science and monitoring on our website.

With thanks to:

  • Institute of Ocean Sciences
  • Canadian Coast Guard
  • Canadian Operational Network of Coupled Environmental Prediction Systems
  • KÖBB Media
  • Argo footage is courtesy of The Argo Project Office (http://www.argo.ucsd.edu)

The following images and footage are courtesy of NASA’s Earth Observatory and NASA/Goddard Space Flight Center Scientific Visualization Studio:

  • Flat Map Ocean Current Flows with Sea Surface Temperatures (SST) (2:40)
  • The Big Muddy, Western Edition (3:04)
  • Phytoplankton off Vancouver Island (3:07)
  • Aquarius Ocean Circulation (4:14)
  • Perpetual Ocean (4:46)
  • Aquarius Sea Surface Salinity 2011-2014 – Rotating Globes (4:49)
Date modified:

Surveillance de l’océan sur la côte Ouest canadienne

Transcription :

Peter Chandler, Spécialiste en océanographie physique, Pêches et Océans Canada: « Nous avons près de quatre-vingts stations dans les détroits de Georgie et de Juan de Fuca, et ça nous prend environ une semaine pour toutes les échantillonner. Une des raisons pour lesquelles nous réalisons cette étude est notre désir de comprendre l’océanographie de la région, et en surveillant l’océan nous pouvons déterminer les changements qui y surviennent et qui pourraient être indicateurs d’un écosystème en péril. »

Marie Robert, Spécialiste en océanographie physique, Pêches et Océans Canada : « La ligne P est une série d’emplacements fixes situés le long d’une ligne de 1500 km qui s’étend vers l’ouest de l’île de Vancouver. Nous parcourons la ligne P trois fois par an. Les données recueillies servent à étudier le climat océanique, à connaître la circulation océanique et les courants, ainsi que la biologie dans cette zone et plus encore. »

Peter Chandler : « L’appareil principal que nous utilisons est la rosette, que nous descendons à partir de la poupe du navire. Quand nous l’abaissons du bateau et qu’elle coule vers le fond marin, les capteurs électroniques enregistrent des données sur la température, la salinité et la fluorescence durant toute la descente. Quand la rosette atteint le fond et que nous débutons la remontée, on l'arrête. »

Peter Chandler : « Parfait, remontez-la à 1-5-0. »

Technicienne : « 1-5-0. »

Peter Chandler : « On immobilise la rosette à certaines profondeurs d’intérêt, on déclenche la fermeture d’une bouteille, ce qui prélève l’eau à ce niveau et on le refera à diverses profondeurs en remontant vers la surface.

Technicienne (voix hors champ) : « Surface! »

Opérateur de monte-charge (voix hors champ) : « Rosette à la surface. »

Peter Chandler : « Là, une fois la rosette remontée à bord, nous échantillonnons l’eau dans de plus petits contenants pour faire des analyses spécifiques à partir de chacun de ceux-ci. Certaines analyses visent à déterminer les propriétés physiques comme l’oxygène, d’autres portent sur les propriétés chimiques comme les nutriments, ou sur les propriétés biologiques telles que la chlorophylle.

Marie Robert : « Plus de cinquante ans de données océaniques révèlent des tendances. Nous avons observé le réchauffement graduel de l’océan ainsi qu’un niveau inférieur d’oxygène dans les eaux profondes le long de la ligne P. »

Peter Chandler : « Pour nous donner une idée de ce qui vit dans l’océan, à un niveau microscopique, nous utilisons des filets que nous hissons verticalement du fond jusqu’à la surface. Chaque année, lors de la prolifération printanière, le plancton assimile les nutriments et une croissance fulgurante s’ensuit. C'est important pour les jeunes saumons lorsqu’ils migrent des rivières vers l’océan, en passant par le détroit, car s’ils peuvent atteindre le détroit lorsque cet approvisionnement alimentaire est abondant, ils deviendront plus robustes avant de rejoindre l’océan et cela nous informera dans les années à venir – quand ils reviendront pour se reproduire – sur les éventuels quotas de pêche. Et donc, avec cette combinaison de propriétés physiques, chimiques et biologiques, nous espérons brosser un tableau des principaux processus qui se produisent dans l’océan. Nous pouvons utiliser ces données pour développer et valider des modèles informatiques qui nous donnent encore plus de renseignements sur la façon dont les conditions changent. »

Marie Robert : « En plus de l'échantillonnage à partir des navires, les océanographes bénéficient aussi d’Argo, un système international de plus de trois mille flotteurs d’échantillonnage. »

Robin Brown, Directeur, Division des sciences océaniques, Institut des sciences de la mer, Pêches et Océans Canada : « Le programme Argo entre maintenant dans sa phase de maturité, et les données d’Argo seront combinées aux observations de navires et de satellites pour créer un nouvel ensemble de produits d’information océanique pouvant être employé par les marins, les industries, le gouvernement et le public. »

Marie Robert : « Au cours des dix dernières années, le système Argo a aidé les scientifiques à comprendre que les océans absorbent maintenant une proportion plus élevée de chaleur engendrée par le réchauffement planétaire et tandis que cela affecte les océans, cela ralentit le réchauffement observé dans l’atmosphère. »

Robin Brown : « Alors maintenant, les océanographes peuvent faire ce que les météorologues font depuis des décennies : pour la première fois, suivre à la trace le mouvement de l’eau et les propriétés océaniques dans l’océan mondial sans avoir recours à des navires de recherche extrêmement coûteux et sans avoir à se rendre et travailler dans des endroits inaccessibles pour ces navires en raison des conditions météorologiques. »

Pêches et Océans Canada

Nous veillons à la santé de nos océans

Visitez notre site web pour en apprendre davantage sur les sciences océaniques et la surveillance des océans.

Merci à :

  • L’Institut des sciences de la mer
  • Garde côtière canadienne
  • Réseau opérationnel canadien de systèmes couplés de prévision environnementale
  • KÖBB Media
  • Les images de Argo sont une gracieuseté du Argo Project Office
  • http://www.argo.ucsd.edu

Les images suivantes sont une gracieuseté du NASA’s Earth Observatory et NASA/Goddard Space Flight Centre Scientific Visualization Studio

  • Flat Map Ocean Current Flows with Sea Surface Temperatures (SST) (2:40)
  • The Big Muddy, Western Edition (3:04)
  • Phytoplankton off Vancouver Island (3:07)
  • Aquarius Ocean Circulation (4:14)
  • Perpetual Ocean (4:46)
  • Aquarius Sea Surface Salinity 2011-2014 – Rotating Globes (4:49)
Date de modification :