Governance

The Canadian Safety and Security Program (CSSP) Governance is comprised of the following groups:

  • Program Management Board
  • Steering Committee
  • Advisory Board

Program Management Board

The Program Management Board (PMB) provides the Steering Committee with input on the strategic orientation of the CSSP, reviews proposed projects selected for funding, and sets recommendations on future priorities.

Members

The PMB consists of a core group of federal Directors General (DG) who are responsible for policy, operations, intelligence, and science and technology (S&T) within their departments and agencies. The co-chairs may invite additional federal DG-level representatives, or representatives from outside organizations, to attend meetings when specific agenda items call for it.

The PMB is co-chaired by the DG of Defence Research and Development Canada’s Centre for Security Science, Department of National Defence, and the DG of Policy and Outreach Directorate, Public Safety Canada.

Steering Committee

The Steering Committee endorses CSSP’s strategic priorities, as well as CSSP project proposals recommended by the Program Management Board (PMB) for funding.

The Steering Committee also engages their respective communities on issues that inform the development of the CSSP.

Members

The Steering Committee is co-chaired by the Department of National Defence’s Assistant Deputy Minister (Science and Technology) and Public Safety Canada’s Assistant Deputy Minister, Emergency Management and Programs Branch.

The co-chairs may invite additional federal assistant deputy minister-level representatives, or representatives from outside organizations, to attend meetings when specific agenda items call for it.

Advisory Board

The CSSP Advisory Board provides strategic program advice to the Program Management Board (PMB) and Steering Committee.

In particular, the Advisory Board provides advice on:

  • public safety and security operational and policy requirements, and their science and technology (S&T) dimensions;
  • national and international public safety and security research and development; and
  • ways to optimize relationships with provinces and territories, industry, academia, non-governmental organizations, and international organizations that are active in the public safety and security domains.

Members

The Advisory Board is comprised of a Chair with membership drawn from a broad range of non-federal public safety and security client and stakeholder groups (e.g. provinces and territories, emergency responder associations, industry, academia, and non-governmental organizations). Potential members are proposed by the PMB co-chairs and endorsed by the Steering Committee.

Date modified:

Gouvernance

La gouvernance du Programme canadien pour la sûreté et la sécurité (PCSS) est composée des groupes suivants:

  • Conseil de gestion du programme
  • Comité directeur
  • Conseil consultatif

Conseil de gestion du programme

Le Conseil de gestion du programme (CGP) offre leurs conseils sur l’orientation stratégique du PCSS au Comité directeur, examine les projets proposés et sélectionnés aux fins de financement, et établit des recommandations relatives aux futures priorités.

Membres

Le CGP est constitué d'un noyau de directeurs généraux (DG) qui sont responsable des politiques, des opérations, du renseignement, de la science et de la technologie (S et T) au sein de leur ministère et agence. Les coprésidents peuvent inviter d'autres représentants fédéraux d'un niveau correspondant à celui d'un DG ou des représentants d'organismes externes à assister aux réunions lorsque des points particuliers à l’ordre du jour le justifient.

Le CGP est coprésidé par le directeur général du Centre des sciences pour la sécurité de Recherche et développement pour la défense Canada qui relève du ministère de la Défense nationale, et par la directrice générale de la Direction des politiques et de la sensibilisation, Secteur de la gestion des urgences et des programmes, Sécurité publique Canada.

Comité directeur

Le Comité directeur appuie les priorités stratégiques du PCSS, ainsi que les propositions de projets PCSS recommandées aux fins de financement par le Conseil de gestion du programme.

Les membres du Comité directeur demandent également l'avis de leurs collectivités respectives sur des sujets qui contribuent à l'élaboration du PCSS.

Membres

Le Comité directeur est coprésidé par le sous-ministre adjoint (Science et technologie) du ministère de la Défense et par le sous-ministre adjoint, Secteur de la gestion des mesures d'urgence et des programmes, Sécurité publique Canada.

Lorsque les sujets à l'ordre du jour l'exigent, les coprésidents peuvent inviter d'autres représentants fédéraux de niveau sous-ministre adjoint ou des représentants d'organisations extérieures à participer aux discussions.

Conseil consultatif

Le Conseil consultatif du PCSS donne des conseils stratégiques au Comité de gestion du programme (CGP) et au Comité directeur.

Plus précisément, il fournit des conseils sur :

  • les exigences opérationnelles et stratégiques concernant la sûreté et la sécurité publique et leurs aspects scientifiques et technologiques (S et T);
  • les activités de recherche et de développement dans le domaine de la sûreté et de la sécurité publique à l’échelle national et internationale; et
  • les moyens d’optimiser les relations avec les provinces et les territoires, le secteur privé, le milieu universitaire, les organismes non gouvernementaux et les organisations internationales qui oeuvrent dans le domaine de la sécurité publique.

Membres

Le Comité consultatif est composé d’un président et de membres qui viennent d’un grand nombre de groupes de clients et de parties intéressées non fédéraux du domaine de la sûreté et de la sécurité publique (p. ex., provinces et territoires, associations d’intervenants d’urgence, entreprises privées, établissements universitaires et organismes non gouvernementaux). Les membres potentiels sont proposés par les coprésidents du CGP et doivent être appuyée par le Comité directeur.

Date de modification :