Language selection

Search

Tri-agency policy on the use of funds for federal government employees applying to granting agency programs

Collaboration between Canada’s research funding agencies, the public sector and the academic sector is important for strengthening our efforts and reinforcing the Canadian research ecosystem. In defining these collaborations, the Government of Canada (GoC) must consider carefully the many ways in which it supports research, including the associated principles and guidelines, so as to maximize the benefit to Canadians.

The Treasury Board Policy on Transfer Payments (PTP) indicates that transfer payments targeted to other orders of government, individuals, not-for-profit organizations, international organizations, Indigenous peoples and the private sector may not be used to fund GoC operations. Given that research grants are a type of transfer payment, special attention must be given when research grants are awarded to eligible applicants who are employed by the federal government. Accordingly, the Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR), the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada (NSERC) and the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada (SSHRC) have harmonized their policy to align more clearly with the Treasury Board PTP with regard to the eligibility and funding of research projects or programs submitted by applicants who are formally affiliated with a Canadian postsecondary institution, but who are employed by the federal government. The harmonized policy position stipulates that:

  1. if the proposed research falls outside the federal employer’s mandate and will not be performed using federal facilities or resources, it will then be deemed eligible
  2. if the proposed research falls within the federal employer’s mandate and is performed using federal facilities or resources, it will then be assessed by the agencies and funding may be allocated for support of students only (salaries or stipends and travel costs)

This harmonized policy aligns with the PTP but provides flexibility for federal employees to engage with the academic sector through the supervision and training of students.

Each agency will implement this policy in their own programs, funding opportunities and competitions. Further information will be posted to the respective agencies’ websites as it becomes available.

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Politique des trois organismes sur l’utilisation de fonds pour les fonctionnaires fédéraux présentant une demande au titre d’un programme des organismes subventionnaires

La collaboration entre les organismes de financement de la recherche du Canada, le secteur public et le secteur universitaire est importante pour intensifier les efforts et renforcer l’écosystème de la recherche au pays. En définissant cette collaboration, le gouvernement du Canada doit examiner attentivement les diverses façons par lesquelles il appuie la recherche, notamment les principes et lignes directrices connexes, de manière à maximiser les bienfaits pour la population canadienne.

En vertu de la Politique sur les paiements de transfert (PPT) du Conseil du Trésor, les paiements de transfert destinés à d’autres ordres de gouvernement, à des particuliers, à des organismes sans but lucratif, à des organisations internationales, à des peuples autochtones et au secteur privé ne peuvent être utilisés pour financer des activités du gouvernement du Canada. Étant donné que les subventions de recherche constituent un type de paiement de transfert, il convient d’être tout particulièrement attentif à l’octroi de ces subventions à des candidats admissibles qui sont employés par le gouvernement fédéral. Par conséquent, les Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada (IRSC), le Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada (CRSNG) et le Conseil de recherches en sciences humaines du Canada (CRSH) ont harmonisé leur politique pour l’aligner plus clairement sur la PPT du Conseil du Trésor en ce qui concerne l’admissibilité et le financement des projets ou programmes de recherche proposés par des candidats qui sont officiellement affiliés à un établissement postsecondaire canadien, mais qui sont également employés par le gouvernement fédéral. Selon la politique harmonisée :

  1. si la recherche proposée ne relève pas du mandat de l’employeur fédéral et n’est pas menée dans des installations fédérales ou à l’aide de ressources fédérales, elle sera jugée admissible;
  2. si la recherche proposée relève du mandat de l’employeur fédéral et est menée dans des installations fédérales ou à l’aide de ressources fédérales, elle sera évaluée par les organismes et le financement pourrait être accordé afin d’appuyer les étudiants uniquement (salaires ou allocations et frais de déplacement).

La politique harmonisée cadre avec la PPT, mais offre aux fonctionnaires fédéraux la latitude de collaborer avec le secteur universitaire en formant et en supervisant des étudiants.

Les organismes mettront en œuvre la politique dans le cadre de leurs propres programmes, possibilités de financement et concours. Les organismes mettront à jour leur site Web à mesure qu’ils disposeront de nouveaux renseignements.

Date de modification :