Language selection

Search

A statement from the presidents of Canada’s federal research granting agencies to support Ukrainian research trainees

As the presidents of Canada’s three federal research funding agencies—the Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR), the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council (NSERC) and the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council (SSHRC)—we wish to express our deep solidarity with the Ukrainian people in the context of Vladimir Putin’s unjustifiable invasion of Ukraine.

We welcome the recent statement by the Honourable François-Philippe Champagne, Minister of Innovation, Science and Industry, and the Honourable Jean-Yves Duclos, Minister of Health, calling for measures to support Ukrainian research personnel in their time of need.

To this end, our agencies are pleased to announce a new Special Response Fund for Trainees (Ukraine). This temporary fund will allow all active and eligible grant-holders across the three agencies to apply for a supplement that will provide one-year relief and assistance to trainees (i.e., individuals eligible for master’s, doctoral or postdoctoral support) whose research in Ukraine has been interrupted by the invasion. Additionally, it enables grant-holders to retain research trainees who were expected to return to Ukraine in 2022 but cannot because of the current situation.

This special Fund will be in effect until the end of 2022, subject to review based on the evolving situation. The design of the Fund leverages past pilot projects to support refugees stationed at Canadian research institutions, such as training awards launched by CIHR in partnership with the International Development Research Centre, in 2016. Further details of the Fund will be released in the coming weeks, with information made available on our respective agency websites.

Going forward, our agencies commit to refraining from entering into agreements with Russian research institutions. Recognizing the value of open science, and the historic role many scientists, academics and researchers have played in defending freedom from tyranny, there will be no broad-based ban on collaborations with individual Russian researchers. However, we will work with Canada’s research institutions to ensure that no new collaborations with individual Russian researchers are established in areas that advance the interests of Vladimir Putin’s regime. NSERC will also ask grant-holders to suspend current, and prohibit future, federally funded research collaborations involving Russian industry, effective immediately.

Sincerely,

Alejandro Adem, FRSC
President, NSERC

Ted Hewitt, PhD
President, SSHRC

Michael J. Strong, MD, FRCP, FCAHS, FAAN
President, CIHR

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Déclaration des présidents des organismes fédéraux de financement de la recherche en soutien aux stagiaires de recherche ukrainiens

À titre de présidents des trois organismes fédéraux de financement de la recherche du Canada – le Conseil de recherches en sciences humaines (CRSH), le Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie (CRSNG) et les Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada (IRSC) –, nous souhaitons exprimer notre profonde solidarité avec la population ukrainienne en lien avec l’invasion injustifiable de l’Ukraine par Vladimir Poutine.

Nous accueillons favorablement la récente déclaration du ministre de l’Innovation, des Sciences et de l’Industrie, l’honorable François-Philippe Champagne, et du ministre de la Santé, l’honorable Jean-Yves Duclos, dans laquelle ces derniers réclament des mesures de soutien au personnel de recherche ukrainien en cette période difficile.

À cette fin, nos organismes ont le plaisir d’annoncer la création du Fonds spécial d’aide aux stagiaires – Ukraine. Ce fonds provisoire permettra à tous les titulaires de subvention actifs admissibles des trois organismes de demander un supplément visant à prêter assistance et secours pour une période d’un an aux stagiaires (qui sont les personnes admissibles à un soutien pour la maîtrise, le doctorat ou le postdoctorat) dont les travaux de recherche en Ukraine ont été interrompus par l’invasion. Le fonds permettra en outre aux titulaires de subvention de continuer de retenir les services des stagiaires de recherche qui devaient rentrer en Ukraine en 2022 mais ne peuvent pas en raison de la situation.

Ce fonds spécial sera en vigueur jusqu’à la fin de 2022 et fera l’objet d’un examen à la lumière de l’évolution de la situation. La conception du fonds s’inspire de projets pilotes antérieurs de soutien à des réfugiés au sein d’établissements de recherche canadiens, dont les bourses de formation créées par les IRSC en 2016 en partenariat avec le Centre de recherches pour le développement international. Plus de précisions seront fournies au sujet du fonds au cours des prochaines semaines dans les sites Web respectifs de nos organismes.

À compter de maintenant, nos organismes s’engagent à s’abstenir de conclure des ententes avec des établissements de recherche russes. Reconnaissant la valeur de la science ouverte et le rôle historique joué par les scientifiques, les universitaires et les chercheures et chercheurs dans la défense de la liberté et la lutte contre la tyrannie, il n’y aura pas d’interdiction générale de collaborer avec des chercheures et chercheurs russes œuvrant à titre personnel. Toutefois, nous travaillerons avec les établissements de recherche du Canada pour nous assurer qu’aucune nouvelle collaboration avec des chercheures et chercheurs russes ne sera établie dans des secteurs risquant de favoriser les intérêts du régime de Vladimir Poutine. Par ailleurs, dès maintenant, le CRSNG demande à ses titulaires de subvention de suspendre toute collaboration actuelle et d’interdire toute collaboration future financées par des fonds fédéraux et faisant intervenir des industries russes.

Cordialement,

Alejandro Adem, MSRC
Président du CRSNG

Ted Hewitt, Ph. D.
Président du CRSH

Michael J. Strong, M.D., FRCPC, MACSS, FAAN
Président des IRSC

Date de modification :