Language selection

Search

Join global experts to learn about pandemic preparedness

August 2022 | Canadian Food Inspection Agency | by Naheda Sahtout, Ph.D. and Sara Dizzell, Secretariat of the Biosafety Level 4 Zoonotic Laboratory Network (BSL4ZNet)

Ever wonder what it might be like to put on an airtight suit and walk through the interlocking bioseal doors of Canada’s highest containment laboratory in Winnipeg? Behind its doors are some of the deadliest pathogens in the world – we’re talking about Ebola virus, Hendra virus, Nipah virus and more.

While only highly trained experts can actually enter the lab, we can offer the next best thing: you can join a global network of the experts who work in these labs at the 2022 Biosafety Level 4 Zoonotic Laboratory Network (BSL4ZNet) International Conference. We hope to see you there!

The 2022 BSL4ZNet International Conference

This year marks the 3rd annual international conference for the BSL4ZNet. The overarching theme is "Forging ahead stronger: Strengthening zoonotic disease preparedness". The conference will consist of a series of virtual sessions in September and October 2022:

  • SARS-CoV-2: then and now on Thursday, September 8, 2022
  • Emerging and re-emerging pathogens: current research, challenges and future opportunities on Thursday, September 15, 2022
  • Cutting-Edge Virtual Symposium on Coronaviruses with Disease-X Potential from September 27 to 29, 2022
  • Training world-class personnel in a post-pandemic era: competencies, culture and technological advancements on Thursday, October 6, 2022
  • Advances in biosafety, biosecurity and biosurveillance on Thursday, October 13, 2022

Register now

Register now for the 2022 BSL4ZNet International Conference. Registration is free.

The BSL4ZNet encourages participation from anyone interested in the conference topics, including COVID-19, emerging and re-emerging pathogens, laboratory personnel training, biosafety and biosecurity. Presenters and participants include scientific experts and leading science professionals from government, academia, industry and in non-profit organizations, working in the areas of research, emerging and re-emerging bio-threats, laboratory management, biosafety and biosecurity, science diplomacy and policy.

More information on each session, including keynote speakers and panelists, is available on the event website.

Join the conversation on Twitter and LinkedIn using #BSL4ZNet2022.

The BSL4ZNet explained

Still wondering what the BSL4ZNet is and does? Let’s start with its name. Biosafety level 4 (BSL4), often called containment level 4 (CL4) in Canada, refers to the level of precautions and safety measures required to contain biological agents in a lab.

BSL4 is the highest level, and facilities designated as BSL4 are equipped to study the most dangerous and infectious pathogens that can cause serious diseases in humans. The entire lab is like a sealed box within a building. They are carefully designed to control the environment inside, can withstand power failures and natural disasters, and are consistently tested to make sure all biosafety requirements are met. The scientists who work in these labs have to wear positive pressure suits with a dedicated breathing air supply fed by a hose. They enter the lab through an air lock, and must take chemical showers to decontaminate their suits any time they enter or leave.

The “Z” in BSL4ZNet is for “zoonotic”. Zoonotic diseases, or zoonoses, are illnesses that can spread between animals and people through harmful viruses, bacteria, parasites and fungi. They make up the majority of existing and emerging infectious diseases that threaten human health. Examples of zoonoses include rabies, avian influenza, Lyme disease, monkeypox, West Nile virus, Ebola virus disease, brucellosis and COVID-19.

“Net” is short for “network”, and represents the partnership between the animal and public health organizations from 5 countries (Canada, Australia, Germany, the United Kingdom, and the Unites States) that make up the BSL4ZNet. Each network organization works with national-level government BSL4 labs to address the threats of zoonotic diseases. After the Ebola outbreak in 2014-2016, it became very clear that these specialized labs around the world would benefit from collaboration, cooperation and knowledge exchange to strengthen preparedness and response to disease outbreaks. That’s why Dr. Primal Silva, Chief Science Operating Officer of the CFIA, worked with international colleagues to establish the BSL4ZNet in 2016. Today, BSL4ZNet partner organizations work closely together to train personnel, promote scientific collaboration and institutional cooperation, and ultimately help us all be better prepared for future outbreaks and pandemics.

The CFIA’s BSL4 facility

The Canadian Science Centre for Human and Animal Health (CSCHAH) in Winnipeg is the first facility in the world to co-house human and animal health BSL4 labs under one roof: the Public Health Agency of Canada's National Microbiology Laboratory (NML) and the CFIA's National Centre for Foreign Animal Disease (NCFAD).

CFIA scientists at the NCFAD are experts in the study and diagnosis of several animal diseases and zoonotic diseases. The lab is also a World Organisation for Animal Health (WOAH) reference laboratory for African swine fever and classical swine fever, highly pathogenic avian influenza and low pathogenic avian influenza in poultry, and foot-and-mouth disease. WOAH reference laboratories are internationally recognized for their expertise in the monitoring and control of animal diseases.

The NCFAD is also a reference centre for the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO) with expertise in foot-and-mouth disease and other vesicular diseases of Central and South America.

A One Health approach

People interact with both wild and domesticated animals for many reasons, including as owners of pets and service animals, farmers, hunters, fishers and veterinarians. While our connections with animals are important and beneficial in many ways, they also result in many pathways of infection for zoonotic diseases. These pathways highlight the importance of a holistic approach to health for both animals and people, as well as to the environment we all share.

Recognizing the inter-connectedness between animals, people and the environment is the foundation of an approach to health-related issues known as One Health. At the CFIA, One Health underpins how issues like zoonotic diseases, food safety and food security, animal disease outbreaks, invasive species, antimicrobial resistance, environmental contamination and other threats are addressed.

To manage these complex and interconnected challenges, One Health requires a multi-disciplinary and collaborative approach with engagement at the local, national and global level. The BSL4ZNet is a shining example of the One Health approach in action. The network’s focus on zoonotic diseases bridges human and animal health and promotes strong relationships between international BSL4 facilities to help us all be better prepared to respond to emerging and evolving zoonotic disease threats.

Check out the CFIA website for more information on the BSL4ZNet and upcoming conferences.

Learn more


Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Rejoignez des experts du monde entier pour en savoir plus sur la préparation en cas de pandémie

Août 2022 | Agence canadienne d’inspection des aliments | par Naheda Sahtout, Ph.D., et Sara Dizzell, Secrétariat du Réseau de laboratoires de niveau de biosécurité 4 pour les zoonoses (réseau BSL4Z)

Vous êtes-vous déjà demandé ce que ça pourrait être de mettre une combinaison hermétique et de franchir les portes bioétanches reliées au laboratoire de confinement le plus élevé du Canada à Winnipeg? Ce laboratoire renferme quelques agents pathogènes les plus mortels au monde – il s’agit des virus Ebola, virus Hendra, virus Nipah, etc.

L’accès au laboratoire n’étant réservé qu’aux experts hautement qualifiés, nous pouvons néanmoins vous offrir la meilleure possibilité de rejoindre un réseau mondial d’experts qui travaillent dans ces laboratoires lors de la conférence internationale 2022 du réseau de laboratoires de niveau de biosécurité 4 pour les zoonoses (réseau BSL4Z). Nous espérons vous y voir!

Conférence internationale 2022 du réseau BSL4Z

Cette année marque la 3e conférence internationale annuelle du réseau BSL4Z. Le thème général est « Aller de l’avant plus fort : Renforcer la préparation aux maladies zoonotiques ». La conférence comprendra une série de séances virtuelles en septembre et octobre 2022 :

  • SRAS-CoV-2 : hier et aujourd'hui, le jeudi 8 septembre 2022
  • Pathogènes émergents et ré-émergents : recherche actuelle, défis et opportunités futures, le jeudi 15 septembre 2022
  • « Cutting-Edge Virtual Symposium on Coronavirus with Disease-X Potential », du 27 au 30 septembre 2022
  • Former un personnel de classe mondiale dans une ère postpandémique : compétences, culture et avancées technologiques, le jeudi 6 octobre 2022
  • Progrès en matière de biosûreté, de biosécurité et de biosurveillance, le jeudi 13 octobre 2022

Inscrivez-vous maintenant

Inscrivez-vous maintenant à la Conférence internationale 2022 du réseau BSL4Z. L’inscription est gratuite et en ligne.

Le réseau BSL4Z encourage la participation de toute personne intéressée par les sujets de la conférence, notamment la COVID-19, les agents pathogènes émergents et réémergents, la formation du personnel de laboratoire, la biosûreté et la biosécurité. Les présentateurs et les participants comprennent des experts scientifiques et des professionnels scientifiques de premier plan du gouvernement, du milieu universitaire, de l’industrie et d’organisations à but non lucratif, qui travaillent dans les domaines de la recherche, des menaces biologiques émergentes et réémergentes, de la gestion de laboratoire, de la biosûreté et de la biosécurité, de la diplomatie scientifique et des politiques.

De plus amples renseignements sur chaque séance, y compris les conférenciers principaux et les panélistes, sont accessibles au site Web de l’événement.

Rejoignez la conversation sur Twitter et LinkedIn en utilisant #BSL4ZNet2022.

Explication du réseau BSL4Z

Vous vous demandez encore ce qu’est le réseau BSL4Z et ce qu’il fait? Commençons par examiner son nom. Le niveau de biosécurité 4 (BSL4), souvent appelé niveau de confinement 4 (CL4) au Canada, désigne le niveau de précautions et de mesures de sécurité requis pour contenir les agents biologiques en laboratoire.

Le BSL4 est le niveau le plus élevé, et les installations désignées comme telles sont équipées pour étudier les agents pathogènes les plus dangereux et infectieux qui peuvent causer des maladies graves chez l’homme. Le laboratoire entier est comme une boîte scellée dans un bâtiment. Ils sont soigneusement conçus pour contrôler l’environnement intérieur, peuvent résister aux pannes d’électricité et aux catastrophes naturelles, et sont régulièrement testés pour s’assurer que toutes les exigences en matière de biosécurité sont respectées. Les scientifiques qui travaillent dans ces laboratoires doivent porter des combinaisons à pression positive dotées d’une source d’air respiratoire alimentée par un tuyau. Ils accèdent au laboratoire par un sas et doivent prendre des douches chimiques pour décontaminer leurs combinaisons chaque fois qu’ils entrent ou sortent.

Le « Z » dans le réseau BSL4Z signifie « zoonotique ». Les maladies zoonotiques, ou zoonoses, sont des maladies qui peuvent se propager entre les animaux et les personnes par de virus, bactéries, parasites et champignons nuisibles. Elles constituent la majorité des maladies infectieuses existantes et émergentes qui menacent la santé humaine. La rage, l’influenza aviaire, la maladie de Lyme, la variole simienne, le virus du Nil occidental, la maladie à virus Ebola, la brucellose et la COVID-19 sont des exemples de zoonoses.

« Net » est l’abréviation de « Network » qui signifie « réseau » et représente le partenariat entre les organisations de santé animale et publique de 5 pays (Canada, Australie, Allemagne, Royaume-Uni et États-Unis) qui composent le réseau BSL4Z. Chaque organisation du réseau travaille avec les laboratoires BSL4 gouvernementaux nationaux pour faire face aux menaces des zoonoses. Après l’épidémie d’Ebola en 2014-2016, il est devenu très clair que ces laboratoires spécialisés dans le monde bénéficieraient de la collaboration, de la coopération et de l’échange de connaissances pour renforcer la préparation et la réponse en cas d’épidémie. C’est pourquoi le Dr Primal Silva, chef des opérations scientifiques de l’ACIA, a travaillé avec des collègues internationaux pour établir le réseau BSL4Z en 2016. Aujourd’hui, les organisations partenaires du réseau BSL4Z travaillent en étroite collaboration pour former le personnel, promouvoir les collaborations scientifique et institutionnelle, et finalement nous aider à être mieux préparés aux futures épidémies et pandémies.

L’installation BSL4 de l’ACIA

Le Centre scientifique canadien pour la santé humaine et animale (CSCSHA) de Winnipeg est la première installation au monde à abriter sous un même toit des laboratoires BSL4 de santé humaine et animale : le Laboratoire national de microbiologie (LNM) de l’Agence de la santé publique du Canada et le Centre national des maladies animales exotiques (CNMAE) de l’ACIA.

Les scientifiques de l’ACIA au CNMAE sont des experts dans l’étude et le diagnostic de plusieurs maladies animales et zoonotiques. C’est également un laboratoire de référence de l’Organisation mondiale de la santé animale (OMSA) pour la peste porcine africaine et la peste porcine classique, l’influenza aviaire hautement pathogène et l’influenza aviaire faiblement pathogène chez les volailles, ainsi que la fièvre aphteuse. Les laboratoires de référence de l’OMSA sont reconnus à l’échelle internationale pour leur expertise dans le suivi et la lutte contre les maladies animales.

Le CNMAE est également un centre de référence pour l’Organisation des Nations Unies pour l’alimentation et l’agriculture (FAO) qui possède une expertise en matière de fièvre aphteuse et d’autres maladies vésiculeuses d’Amérique centrale et du Sud.

Une approche « Une seule santé »

Les gens interagissent avec des animaux sauvages et domestiques pour de nombreuses raisons, notamment en tant que propriétaires d’animaux de compagnie et d’animaux de service, d’agriculteurs, de chasseurs, de pêcheurs et de vétérinaires. Bien que nos liens avec les animaux soient importants et bénéfiques à bien des égards, ils entraînent également de nombreuses voies d’infection pour les maladies zoonotiques. Ces voies soulignent l’importance d’une approche holistique de la santé tant pour les animaux que pour les personnes, ainsi que pour l’environnement dans lequel nous interagissons.

La reconnaissance de l’interdépendance entre les animaux, les personnes et l’environnement est la base d’une approche des questions liées à la santé, connue sous le nom « Une seule santé ». À l’ACIA, l’approche « Une seule santé » sous-tend la façon dont on aborde les problèmes comme les maladies zoonotiques, la salubrité et la sécurité alimentaires, les éclosions de maladies animales, les espèces envahissantes, la résistance aux antimicrobiens, la contamination de l’environnement et d’autres menaces.

Pour gérer ces défis complexes et interconnectés, l’approche « Une seule santé » requiert une approche multidisciplinaire et collaborative avec un engagement aux niveaux local, national et mondial. Le réseau BSL4Z est un bel exemple pratique de l’approche « Une seule santé ». L’accent mis par le réseau sur les maladies zoonotiques établit un lien entre la santé humaine et la santé animale et favorise l’établissement de relations solides entre les installations internationales de BSL4 afin de nous aider à être mieux préparés à répondre aux menaces émergentes et évolutives de maladies zoonotiques.

Consultez le site Web de l’ACIA pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur le réseau BSL4Z et les conférences à venir.

En savoir plus


Date de modification :