Language selection

Search

Hepatitis D research highlights need for increased screening

Research from the Public Health Agency of Canada (PHAC)’s National Microbiology Laboratory (NML) is offering new insights into how common the hepatitis D virus is in Canada and who is infected.

Scientists from the NML are working with the Canadian HBV (Hepatitis B Virus) Network, a group of physicians and scientists from across the country, to understand risk factors and outcomes of hepatitis D. The NML is Canada’s reference laboratory for hepatitis viruses, which means that provincial laboratories send samples to the NML to verify their results and do quality assurance tests. The NML is one of the only labs in the country that provides hepatitis D testing.

What is hepatitis?

Hepatitis is inflammation of the liver caused by viruses (viral hepatitis) or other factors. Hepatitis D is considered a satellite virus (a virus that depends on another virus to be able to infect a person). In this case, hepatitis D is a satellite virus of hepatitis B, meaning that a person must already be infected with hepatitis B in order for hepatitis D to cause an infection. Hepatitis D can lead to cirrhosis (scarring of the liver) and liver cancer, much more aggressively than hepatitis B or C.

Why understanding the numbers matters

With the development of new therapies for hepatitis D, knowing how many people are infected is necessary to properly target and fund meaningful interventions that help save lives and prevent people from developing life-threatening conditions, such as cancer, caused by hepatitis. These interventions include a new drug, bulevirtide, that is showing promise in treating Hepatitis D and for which approval is being sought in North America.

“The screening and testing of hepatitis D infected populations is crucial to ensuring physicians can provide appropriate treatment, care and support,” says Dr. Carla Osiowy, Chief, Viral Hepatitis and Bloodborne Pathogens at the NML. “Increased awareness also means physicians can provide information to patients such as how to protect themselves from being infected or how to prevent further transmission to other people.”

The number of hepatitis D cases worldwide is unknown due to a lack of standardized testing and routine screening for the virus. However, the NML is gathering Canadian data in order to help physicians and researchers better understand national and international numbers. The NML is increasing global public health awareness by publishing and presenting their findings at medical meetings. They are also working with the Canadian HBV Network and other educational/advocacy groups to provide information to patients and physicians. Additionally, the NML is developing new laboratory testing methods for hepatitis D that they aim to eventually share broadly to help increase detection.

Stopping the spread

Over the years, specialists and infectious disease doctors have started to increase screening of patients that are positive with hepatitis B for hepatitis D as well as screening high-risk individuals, including those immigrating to Canada from countries where hepatitis is endemic. Those most at risk are also at a higher risk for other sexually transmitted and blood-borne infections (STBBI). Many individuals with hepatitis D also have HIV or hepatitis C, meaning that doctors can screen patients for other STBBI if they know the patient already has one of these infections so they can provide the necessary care. To prevent infections, experts are now recommending universal infant vaccination for hepatitis B.

STBBI are preventable, treatable and in many cases curable. However, these infections, including viral hepatitis, remain a significant public health concern in Canada. The Government of Canada is committed to reducing the burden of STBBI in Canada. PHAC will continue its work to reduce the incidence of STBBI in Canada; improve access to testing (particularly for those experiencing difficulties accessing diagnostic services), treatment, and ongoing care and support; and reduce stigma and discrimination that create vulnerabilities to STBBI.


Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Une recherche sur l’hépatite D souligne la nécessité d’un dépistage accru

Une recherche menée par le Laboratoire national de microbiologie (LNM) de l’Agence de la santé publique du Canada (ASPC) fournit de nouvelles connaissances sur la fréquence de l’hépatite D au Canada et sur les personnes infectées.

Les scientifiques du LNM travaillent avec le Réseau canadien du VHB (virus de l’hépatite B), un groupe de médecins et de scientifiques de partout au pays, pour comprendre les facteurs de risque et l’évolution de l’hépatite D. Le LNM est le laboratoire de référence du Canada pour les virus des hépatites, ce qui signifie que les laboratoires provinciaux envoient des échantillons au LNM pour qu’il vérifie leurs résultats et effectue des tests de contrôle de la qualité. Le LNM est l’un des seuls laboratoires du pays à offrir des tests de dépistage de l’hépatite D.

Qu’est-ce que l’hépatite?

L’hépatite est une inflammation du foie causée par des virus (hépatite virale) ou d’autres facteurs. Le virus de l’hépatite D (VHD) est considéré comme un virus satellite (un virus qui dépend d’un autre virus pour pouvoir infecter une personne). Dans ce cas-ci, le VHD est un virus satellite du VHB, ce qui signifie qu’une personne doit déjà être infectée par l’hépatite B pour que l’hépatite D cause une infection. L’hépatite D peut entraîner une cirrhose (cicatrices au foie) et un cancer du foie de manière beaucoup plus agressive que l’hépatite B ou C.

L’importance de comprendre les chiffres

Avec la mise au point de nouveaux traitements contre l’hépatite D, il est nécessaire de connaître le nombre de personnes infectées pour bien cibler et financer des interventions significatives qui aident à sauver des vies et à empêcher les gens de développer des maladies potentiellement mortelles causées par l’hépatite, comme le cancer. Ces interventions comprennent un nouveau médicament, le bulévirtide, qui s’avère prometteur dans le traitement de l’hépatite D et pour lequel une demande d’approbation est en cours en Amérique du Nord.

« Le dépistage et le diagnostic de l’hépatite D sont essentiels pour que les médecins puissent fournir des traitements, des soins et un soutien appropriés », explique Carla Osiowy, chef de section des hépatites virales et pathogènes à diffusion hématogène au LNM. « Une sensibilisation accrue signifie également que les médecins peuvent fournir des renseignements aux patients, notamment sur la façon de se protéger contre l’infection ou de prévenir la transmission à d’autres personnes. »

Le nombre de cas d’hépatite D dans le monde est inconnu en raison de l’absence de tests normalisés et de dépistage systématique du virus. Cependant, le LNM recueille des données canadiennes afin d’aider les médecins et les chercheurs à mieux comprendre les chiffres nationaux et internationaux. Le LNM accroît la sensibilisation à la santé publique mondiale en publiant et en présentant ses résultats lors de réunions médicales. Le LNM collabore également avec le Réseau canadien du VHB et d’autres groupes de sensibilisation et de défense afin de fournir des renseignements aux patients et aux médecins. De plus, le LNM met au point de nouvelles méthodes d’analyse de laboratoire concernant l’hépatite D, avec l’objectif de les diffuser à grande échelle pour améliorer la détection.

Freiner la propagation

Au fil des ans, les experts et les médecins spécialistes des maladies infectieuses ont commencé à accroître le dépistage de l’hépatite D chez les patients atteints de l’hépatite B ainsi que chez les personnes à haut risque, notamment celles qui immigrent au Canada de pays où l’hépatite est endémique. Les personnes les plus à risque sont également plus à risque d’autres infections transmissibles sexuellement et par le sang (ITSS). De nombreuses personnes atteintes de l’hépatite D ont également le VIH ou l’hépatite C, ce qui signifie que le médecin peut dépister d’autres ITSS s’il sait que le patient est déjà atteint de l’une de ces infections, afin de fournir les soins nécessaires. Pour prévenir les infections, les experts recommandent maintenant la vaccination universelle des nourrissons contre l’hépatite B.

Il est possible d’éviter, de traiter et, dans de nombreux cas, de guérir les ITSS. Cependant, ces infections, dont l’hépatite virale, demeurent un important problème de santé publique au Canada. Le gouvernement du Canada est déterminé à réduire le fardeau des ITSS au Canada. L’ASPC poursuivra son travail pour réduire l’incidence des ITSS au Canada; améliorer l’accès aux tests de dépistage (en particulier pour les personnes qui ont de la difficulté à accéder aux services de diagnostic), aux traitements, au soutien et aux soins continus; et réduire la stigmatisation et la discrimination qui créent des vulnérabilités aux ITSS.


Date de modification :