Language selection

Search

Science Misinformation

Science Misinformation

This webpage provides information on the importance of building citizen awareness of science misinformation and offers resources and initiatives that support the Government of Canada’s response to science and health-related misinformation.

The government recognizes that an understanding of science and critical thinking skills are important tools for all Canadians to have in order to support science literacy and help separate misinformation from facts.

The spread of misinformation through digital technologies and social media means the trend of science-related misinformation will continue to have serious social, economic and health consequences. While health-related misinformation became common as COVID-19 began, the trend of increasing science-related misinformation is expected to continue.

Online engagement on science and science related topics is best suited to an open Internet free from manipulation and misinformation. As such, the government is collaborating with partners, academics and organizations across Canada to address this challenge through building evidence, raising awareness and providing tools to help ensure that the benefits of science for society are welcomed.

What you will find here

Why address science misinformation?

What are we doing?

Education and awareness

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Mésinformation scientifique

Science Misinformation

Cette page Web fournit des renseignements sur l’importance de renforcer la sensibilisation des citoyens à l’égard de la mésinformation scientifique et offre des ressources et des initiatives à l’appui de la réponse du gouvernement du Canada face à la mésinformation liée à science et à la santé.

Le gouvernement reconnaît que les connaissances scientifiques et la capacité de réflexion critique sont des outils importants que tous les Canadiens doivent avoir pour soutenir la culture scientifique et contribuer à distinguer la mésinformation des faits.

Les technologies numériques et les réseaux sociaux favorisent la propagation de la mésinformation, ce qui signifie que la tendance de la mésinformation scientifique continuera d’avoir de sérieuses conséquences sur le plan social, économique et celui de la santé. La mésinformation liée à la santé est devenue courante avec l’arrivée de la COVID-19 et la tendance à la hausse de la mésinformation scientifique risque de se poursuivre.

La mobilisation en ligne sur la science et des sujets connexes convient mieux à un Internet ouvert exempt de manipulations et de mésinformations. Le gouvernement collabore donc avec des partenaires, des universitaires et des organismes dans l’ensemble du Canada afin de remédier à ce problème en recueillant des données probantes, en sensibilisant davantage la population et en fournissant des outils pour permettre de veiller à ce que les avantages de la science pour la société soient bien accueillis.

Ce que vous trouverez ici

Pourquoi lutter contre la mésinformation scientifique?

Ce que nous faisons

Éducation et sensibilisation

Date de modification :