111. First Digital Open File (1970)

First Digital Open File

The Geological Survey of Canada was an early adopter of computer technology, with the first computer, an IBM 1620, used by Survey scientists in 1962. Survey geochemists quickly embraced the new technology to help map the chemistry of Canada’s rocks, soils, sediments, and vegetation to support industry exploration for new mineral, and oil and gas resources. 

Field and location data, and laboratory analytical data, were entered on forms designed so that the information could be transferred to 80-column punched, Hollerith cards for input into the computer. This permitted paper maps to be prepared on a 36-inch Calcomp drum plotter, and statistical studies to be undertaken. 

In 1965, the Survey undertook a stream-sediment and water survey in New Brunswick’s Bathurst area to address industry concerns that the mines in this important mining district were running out of ore. Some 3500 sites were sampled and analyzed. The resulting maps were released in 1966, and spurred much prospecting activity. Due to the ongoing interest in the data, the Survey made them digitally available in 1970 as a nine-track magnetic tape as part of its Open File series, making it the Survey’s first digital Open File.

Category: Publications

Decade: 1970s

References

Adcock, S.W., Spirito, W.A., and Garrett, R.G., 2013. Geochemical data management – issues and solutions; Geochemistry: Exploration, Environment, Analysis, v. 13, p. 337–348. doi:10.1144/geochem2011-084

Boyle, R.W., Garrett, R.G., and Tupper, W.M., 1970. Analyses of stream sediments of the Bathurst-Jacquet river District, New Brunswick, magnetic tape and sample location map; Geological Survey of Canada, Open File 27, 1 magnetic tape.

Canadian Database of Geochemical Surveys. http://geochem.nrcan.gc.ca/cdogs/content/main/home_en.htm

Home - Accueil

Date modified:

111. Premier dossier public numérique (1970)

Premier dossier public numérique

La Commission géologique du Canada a adopté la technologie informatique dès le départ; son premier ordinateur, un IBM 1620, était utilisé par les chercheurs de la Commission en 1962. Les géochimistes de la Commission ont rapidement adopté la nouvelle technologie pour cartographier la chimie des roches, des sols, des sédiments et de la végétation du Canada afin d’appuyer les activités d’exploration de l’industrie pour de nouvelles ressources minérales, pétrolières et gazières. 

Les données de terrain, les données de localisation ainsi que les données analytiques de laboratoire étaient consignées sur des formulaires conçus de façon à ce que les renseignements puissent être transférés sur des cartes Hollerith perforées de 80 colonnes pour être saisis dans l’ordinateur. Cela permettait de préparer des cartes papier sur un traceur à tambour Calcomp de 36 pouces et de mener des études statistiques. 

En 1965, la Commission a procédé, dans les cours d’eau de la région de Bathurst, au Nouveau-Brunswick, à des levés d’eau et de sédiments, pour répondre aux préoccupations de l’industrie à l’effet que les mines de cet important district minier étaient à court de minerais. Des échantillons provenant de quelque 3 500 sites ont été prélevés et analysés. Les cartes produites ont été publiées en 1966 et ont suscité beaucoup d’activité de prospection. En 1970, étant donné l’intérêt continu à l’égard des données, la Commission les a rendues accessibles sur une bande magnétique à neuf pistes dans le cadre de sa série Dossiers publics, ce qui en a fait le premier dossier public numérique de la Commission.

Categorie : Publications

Décennie : Années 1970

Références

Adcock, S.W., Spirito, W.A., et Garrett, R.G., 2013. Geochemical data management – issues and solutions; Geochemistry: Exploration, Environment, Analysis, v. 13, p. 337–348. doi:10.1144/geochem2011-084

Boyle, R.W., Garrett, R.G., et Tupper, W.M., 1970. Analyses of stream sediments of the Bathurst-Jacquet river District, New Brunswick, magnetic tape and sample location map; Geological Survey of Canada, Open File 27, 1 magnetic tape.

Canadian Database of Geochemical Surveys. http://geochem.nrcan.gc.ca/cdogs/content/main/home_en.htm

Home - Accueil

Date de modification :