Lab 101: What does it take to house the world’s deadliest diseases?

Ebola, Lassa and Nipah – these viruses can cause some of the world’s deadliest diseases. Have you ever wondered how and where Canadian scientists research these extremely infectious pathogens? They are stored and handled in the highest level of biocontainment labs with the utmost standard of safety and security. These labs are called Containment Level 4 labs (CL4). Canada’s only CL4 labs are found in Winnipeg, Manitoba, at the Canadian Science Centre for Human and Animal Health (CSCHAH).

CSCHAH is home to the Public Health Agency of Canada’s National Microbiology Laboratory and the Canadian Food Inspection Agency’s National Centre for Foreign Animal Disease. It is the first facility in the world to have both human and animal CL4 labs under one roof.

Containment Level Basics

Diseases, viruses, and bacteria are researched, studied, and handled within labs that contain the appropriate level of safety and security measures to prevent illnesses and outbreaks. Containment levels are determined by the combination of safety measures present in a lab, including equipment and physical lab features. Levels build upon one another; the higher the containment level, the more safety measures are in place.

Most labs at CSCHAH are Containment Level 2 (CL2) and Containment Level 3 (CL3) with only around 5% of the lab space classified as CL4. While this may seem like a small portion, the research conducted in this facility is internationally recognized for leading the direction of infectious disease research.

Containment Level Differences

Photo: CL2 scientists working in the lab

CL2 scientists working in the lab

CL2 labs are very common and are often found in hospital settings. In these labs, the laboratory staff sterilize equipment and wear gloves, lab coats and protective eyewear. These labs also contain biosafety cabinets which protect from pathogen exposure. Pathogens worked on in CL2 labs are mostly spread through injection or ingestion. Some examples of pathogens kept in CSCHAH’s CL2 labs are herpes, E. coli and Salmonella.

Photo: A CL3 scientist working in personal protective equipment in a biosafety cabinet

A CL3 scientist working in personal protective equipment in a biosafety cabinet

CL3 labs have added safety and security measures because they contain more infectious pathogens like anthrax, tuberculosis and West Nile virus. Even a small dose of these pathogens can cause serious illness. The air in CL3 labs is purified and scientists must take showers before exiting. Like all levels, the waste is also disinfected before leaving the facility.

Photo: Scientist in a CL4 suit decontaminating waste

Scientist in a CL4 suit
decontaminating waste

For CL4 , the entire lab is built within extra walls to prevent a potential breach. Imagine it like a box-within-a-box. Scientists work with a dedicated breathing air supply and take chemical showers to decontaminate their suits. There are also layers of negative pressure zones – making sure the air always flows back into the lab when any doors are opened. When Canada must prepare for deadly global outbreaks of pathogens like Ebola, Lassa fever, and Nipah virus, CL4 labs are where the research is done.

Photo: HEPA filter room purifying the lab air

HEPA filter room purifying the lab air

No matter the lab level, every precaution is always taken to ensure the lab is safe and secure so that scientists can work to protect and improve the health of people in Canada and around the world.

Date modified:

Laboratoire 101 : Que faut-il pour entreposer les agents pathogènes les plus dangereux au monde?

Ebola, Lassa et Nipah sont des virus à l’origine de certaines des maladies faisant le plus de ravages dans le monde. Vous êtes-vous déjà demandé comment et où les scientifiques canadiens étudiaient ces agents extrêmement infectieux? Ceux-ci sont entreposés et manipulés dans les laboratoires assurant le niveau de confinement le plus élevé et respectant les normes de sécurité les plus strictes. On les appelle les laboratoires de niveau de confinement 4 (NC4). Les seuls laboratoires de NC4 au Canada se trouvent au Centre scientifique canadien de santé humaine et animale (CSCSHA), situé à Winnipeg, au Manitoba.

Ce centre abrite le Laboratoire national de microbiologie de l’Agence de la santé publique du Canada et le Centre national des maladies animales exotiques de l’Agence canadienne d’inspection des aliments. Il est le premier au monde à regrouper des laboratoires de NC4 pour la recherche sur la santé humaine et sur la santé animale.

Principes essentiels des niveaux de confinement

Les maladies, les virus et les bactéries font l’objet de recherches, d’études et de manipulations dans des laboratoires dont le niveau de sûreté et de sécurité est le plus adéquat pour prévenir les maladies et les éclosions. Le niveau de confinement est déterminé en fonction des différentes mesures de sécurité en place, notamment l’équipement et les caractéristiques physiques du laboratoire. Plus le niveau de confinement est élevé, plus il y a de mesures de sécurité.

La plupart des laboratoires du CSCSHA sont de niveau de confinement 2 (NC2) et 3 (NC3), tandis qu’environ 5 % seulement sont de NC4. Si cette proportion peut sembler faible, les travaux effectués dans cette installation sont reconnus mondialement comme étant à l’avantgarde de la recherche sur les maladies infectieuses.

Différences entre les niveaux de confinement

Photo : Des scientifiques travaillant dans un laboratoire de NC2

Des scientifiques travaillant dans un laboratoire de NC2

Les laboratoires de NC2 sont très courants et se trouvent souvent en milieu hospitalier. Dans ces laboratoires, les employés stérilisent l’équipement et portent des gants, un sarrau et des lunettes de protection. Ils peuvent travailler dans des enceintes de sécurité biologique afin d’éviter d’être exposés à des agents pathogènes. Les agents pathogènes étudiés dans les laboratoires de NC2 se transmettent le plus souvent par injection ou ingestion. Citons à titre d’exemples le virus de l’herpès, E. coli et les salmonelles.

Photo : Une scientifique portant un vêtement de protection individuelle dans une enceinte de biosécurité d’un laboratoire de NC3

Une scientifique portant un vêtement de protection individuelle dans une enceinte de biosécurité d’un laboratoire de NC3

Les laboratoires de NC3 comportent des mesures de sûreté et de sécurité supplémentaires parce qu’on y conserve des agents pathogènes plus infectieux, comme les bacilles du charbon et de la tuberculose et le virus du Nil occidental. Même une petite dose de ces agents peut causer une maladie grave. L’air des laboratoires de NC3 est purifié, et les scientifiques doivent prendre une douche avant de sortir. De plus, comme pour tous les niveaux, les déchets sont désinfectés avant de quitter l’installation.

Photo : Un scientifique en combinaison de NC4 décontaminant des déchets

Un scientifique en combinaison de NC4 décontaminant des déchets

Pour le NC4, tout le laboratoire est entouré de murs supplémentaires prévenant toute fuite possible. Imaginez une boîte à l’intérieur d’une autre boîte. Les scientifiques ont leur propre approvisionnement en air et prennent une douche chimique afin de décontaminer leur combinaison. Grâce à des zones de pression négative, l’air circule constamment en direction du laboratoire lorsqu’une porte s’ouvre. Quand le Canada doit se préparer à des éclosions mondiales mortelles provoquées par des agents comme les virus Ebola, Lassa et Nipah, c’est dans les laboratoires de NC4 que s’effectue la recherche.

Photo : Salle de filtres HEPA purifiant l’air d’un laboratoire

Salle de filtres HEPA purifiant l’air d’un laboratoire

Quel que soit le niveau de confinement du laboratoire, les précautions nécessaires sont toujours prises afin d’assurer la sécurité des scientifiques qui s’emploient à protéger et à améliorer la santé des personnes au Canada comme ailleurs.

Date de modification :