6. Appendix B – Participants List

Building an Oceans Research in Canada Alliance Workshop
February 22-23, 2017, Ottawa
Last Name First Name Title and Affilliation
Blais Marie-Josee Assistant Deputy Minister, Science and Innovation sector, Ministry of Economy, Science and Innovation, Government of Quebec
Bonnell Carey Head, School of Fisheries, Marine Institute, Memorial University
Brown Craig Research Scientist, Nova Scotia Community College
Brunet Gilbert Director, Meteorological Research Division, Science and Technology Branch, Environment and Climate Change Canada
Burns David Vice-President of Research, University of New Brunswick
Burt Helen Vice-President Research, University of British Columbia
Carr Jon Executive Director, Research & Environment, Atlantic Salmon Federation
Castle David Vice-President Research, University of Victoria
Charbonneau Sylvain Associate Vice-President, Research, University of Ottawa
Courtemanche David Director, MERINOV
Courtenay Simon Scientific Director, Canadian Water Network; Science Director, Canadian Rivers Institute; Professor, University of Waterloo
Crago Martha Vice-President Research, Dalhousie University, Canadian Consortium of Ocean Research Universities
Critchley Jacques Senior Program Officer, Research Grants and Partnerships Division , Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada (SSHRC)
Cunsolo Ashlee Director, Labrador Institute of Memorial University
Day Andrew Vice-President, Vancouver Aquarium; Executive Director, Coastal Ocean Research Institute
de Lafontaine Yves Regional Director of Science, Quebec, Department of Fisheries and Oceans
Forest Alexandre Marine Research Manager, Amundsen Science
Fortier Louis Scientific Director, ArcticNet
Fortier Martin Executive Director of Sentinel North and Assistant to the Vice-Rector Research and Innovation, Université Laval
Frid Alejandro Science Coordinator, Central Coast Indigenous Resource Alliance
Giangioppi Martine Senior Arctic Marine Conservation Specialist, World Wildlife Fund Canada
Giguère Noémie Chief Executive Officer, Technopole Maritime du Québec
Graham Mark Canadian Museum of Nature
Hamelin Bettina Vice-President, Research Partnerships Directorate, Natural Science and Engineering Research Council (NSERC)
Hanlon Jim CEO, Institute for Ocean Research Enterprise
Harrison Peter Professor Emeritus, Queen’s University
Hill Paul Departmental Chair, Oceanography, Dalhousie University
Hogan Cathy Executive Director, OceansAdvance
Iverson Sara Scientific Director, Ocean Tracking Network (OTN)
Jackson David Director, Canadian Ice Service
Jayas Digvir S. Vice-President, Research and International, University of Manitoba
Juniper Kim Chief Scientist, Ocean Networks Canada (ONC)
Lambert Koizumi Catherine Executive Director, The Mi’gmaq Maliseet Aboriginal Fisheries Management Association (MMAFMA)
Lebel Daniel Director General, Geological Survey of Canada, Natural Resources Canada
Leclair Alain Director, Science & Technology Research, Polar Knowledge Canada
Leslie Megan Vice President Oceans, World Wildlife Fund Canada
Leslie Stefan Executive Director, Marine Environmental Observation, Prediction and Response Network (MEOPAR)
Levesque Guy Vice-President, Programs and Performance, Canada Foundation for Innovation (CFI)
Locke Stephen Director - Atlantic, Geological Survey of Canada, Natural Resources Canada
MacDougall Lesley Science Advisor, Pacific, Department of Fisheries and Oceans
MacKinnon Anne-Margaret Manager, Aquatic Health Division, Gulf Region, Department of Fisheries and Oceans
Mate David Director, Science and Technology Operations, Polar Knowledge Canada
McCallum Barry Regional Director of Science, NL, Department of Fisheries and Oceans
McLean Scott Director, Innovation Centre, Ocean Networks Canada (ONC)
McPherson Arran Director General, Ecosystem Science, Department of Fisheries and Oceans
Moore Wayne Director General, Strategic and Regulatory Science Directorate, Department of Fisheries and Oceans
Moorman David Senior Advisor, Policy and Planning, Canada Foundation for Innovation (CFI)
Moran Kate President and Chief Executive Officer, Ocean Networks Canada (ONC)
Munro Geoff Chair, Ocean Frontier Institute, Excellence, Impact and Engagement Committee
Myers Paul Professor in the Department of Earth and Atmospheric Sciences, University of Alberta
Nightingale John President and CEO, Vancouver Aquarium
Pakhomov Evgeny Director, Institute of Oceans and Fisheries, Department of Earth, Ocean & Atmospheric Science, University of British Columbia
Pirenne Benoit Director of User Engagement, Ocean Networks Canada
Plourde Ariane Director, Institut des sciences de la mer de Rimouski (ISMER)
Point Jordan Executive Director, First Nations Fisheries Council of British Columbia
Rangeley Robert Director of Science, Oceana Canada
Rogers Sean Associate Professor, Biological Sciences, University of Calgary
Saunders Mark North Pacific Anadromous Fish Commission (NPAFC)
Schimnowski Adrian Chief Executive Officer/Operations Director, Arctic Research Foundation
Seube Nicolas Scientific Director, Interdisciplinary Center for the Development of Ocean Mapping (CIDCO) and Chair Canada Ocean Mapping Education and Research Network (COMREN)
Siron Robert Director Oceanography, Ouranos
Smith James Executive Director, Huntsman Marine Science Centre
Snelgrove Paul Network Director, Canadian Healthy Oceans Network (CHONe II)
Interim Associate Science Director, Ocean Frontier Institute
University Research Professor, Memorial University
Snider James Vice President Science, World Wildlife Fund Canada
Snook Jamie Executive Director, Torngat Wildlife, Plants and Fisheries Secretariat; Torngat Joint Fisheries Board
Stigant Jessica Strategic Partnerships Officer, Ocean Networks Canada
St-Onge Guillaume Director, Réseau Québec Maritime
Sumaila Rashid OceanCanada Partnership, Professor in Fisheries Economics Research Unit; Institute for the Oceans and Fisheries, University of British Columbia
Swerdfager Trevor ADM Ecosystems and Ocean Science, Department of Fisheries and Oceans
Taylor Jeff Associate Vice-President, Applied Research and Innovation, Nova Scotia Community College
Tessier Christina Director General, Canada Science and Technology Museum
Thomas Mary Ellen Senior Research Officer, Nunavut Research Institute (Iqaluit)
Thompson Susan Manager, Canadian Fisheries Research Network (CFRN)
Tremblay Jean-Eric Member, Québec-Océan
van der Molen Henk Director of Development, Students on Ice
Vezina Alain Regional Director of Science, Maritimes, Department of Fisheries and Oceans
Virc Stephen Director, Office of Partnership and Collaboration, Department of Fisheries and Oceans
Wallace Douglas Science Director, Marine Environmental Observation Prediction and Response (MEOPAR)
Wang Feiyue Canada Research Chair in Arctic Environmental Chemistry, University of Manitoba
Watson-Wright Wendy Chief Executive Officer, Ocean Frontier Institute; Dalhousie University
Whoriskey Frederick Executive Director, Ocean Tracking Network (OTN)
Wong Mike Chair Science Advisory Committee, Canada C3