Canada's Extended Continental Shelf Program

Canada is a coastal state with a large continental shelf beyond 200 nautical miles (M) from shore. In 2003, Canada embarked on a history-making project to define the outer limits of this continental shelf in the Atlantic and Arctic Oceans. The great scale of this endeavor has brought together Canadian and international researchers to collect and analyze the data needed to achieve this goal. This research represents the latest chapter in Canadian Arctic exploration.

Scientists are studying the Canadian continental shelf as part of the Extended Continental Shelf (ECS) Program, a large  initiative set up to identify characteristics of the shelf under the Atlantic and Arctic Oceans and prepare Canada’s submission to the Commission on the Limits of the Continental Shelf (CLCS). The Program is also sometimes called the “UNCLOS Program” since the submission is being prepared in accordance with the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea or UNCLOS.

UNCLOS is an international agreement that recognizes that coastal states have sovereign rights over the natural resources of the seabed and subsoil beyond 200 M as well as jurisdiction over certain activities, such as marine scientific research. The Convention sets out a process for coastal states to define with precision the outer limits of their continental shelves and obtain international recognition for those limits.

Canada became a party to the Convention in December 2003. In 2013, Canada filed a submission regarding its continental shelf in the Atlantic Ocean and preliminary information concerning the outer limits of its continental shelf in the Arctic Ocean.

Video: Canada-Sweden Arctic Expedition 2016

Media Centre

2016
Canada launches 2016 Arctic Survey in support of continental shelf submission

2015
Canada Launches Scientific Survey Toward Submission for Extended Arctic Continental Shelf

2014
Harper Government Launches First of Two Scientific Surveys to Complete Canada’s Arctic Continental Shelf Submission

2013
Canada Marks Major Milestone in Defining Its Continental Shelf

2011
Canadian Coast Guard Ship Louis S. St-Laurent Departs for Arctic Supporting Science and Northern Shipping

2010
Deline Student Gives Name to New Autonomous Underwater Vehicle Yamoria

2009
Ceremony to Hand Over Autonomous Underwater Vehicles to Government of Canada
Canada and US to Conduct Second Joint Survey of Extended Continental Shelf in the Arctic

2008
Canada-US to Jointly Survey Arctic Seafloor
Government of Canada Welcomes New Mapping Data on Canada's North

Stay Connected

Twitter

Follow us on Twitter!

Natural Resources Canada @NRCan

Fisheries and Oceans Canada @DFO_MPO

Hashtag: #CanArctic

Google Maps

Survey Missions Timeline– Visit the interactive map to learn about our previous missions.

Date modified:

Programme du plateau continental étendu du Canada

Expédition de 2016 dans l’Arctique

L’Expédition polaire Canada-Suède 2016 a été le dernier levé UNCLOS du Canada dans l’océan Arctique.

Vidéo : Expédition polaire Canada-Suède 2016

Vidéo : Expédition polaire Canada-Suède 2016


Blogue de l’expédition de 2016

Blogue de l’expédition de 2016

Rédigé par Émilie Hébert-Houle (enseignante en mer)

Le Canada est un pays côtier dont le vaste plateau continental s’étend au-delà de 200 milles marins (NM) des côtes. En 2003, le Canada a entrepris un projet qui fera l’histoire : définir les limites extérieures de ce plateau continental dans les océans Atlantique et Arctique. Il s’agit d’un projet d’envergure dans le cadre duquel des chercheurs du Canada et de l’étranger collaborent afin de recueillir et d’analyser les données requises pour parvenir à définir les limites du plateau continental. Ce projet constitue le dernier chapitre de l’exploration de l’Arctique au Canada.

Les scientifiques étudient le plateau continental canadien dans le cadre du Programme du plateau continental étendu (PCE), une vaste initiative visant à définir les caractéristiques du plateau sous les océans Atlantique et Arctique et à préparer la demande du Canada à la Commission des limites du plateau continental (CLPC). Le Programme est aussi appelé parfois le « programme UNCLOS », puisque la demande est préparée conformément à la Convention des Nations Unies sur le droit de la mer (UNCLOS).

Le programme UNCLOS est un accord international qui reconnaît que les pays côtiers ont des droits souverains sur les ressources naturelles du plancher océanique et du sous-sol au-delà de 200 NM, et autorité sur certaines activités, comme la recherche scientifique marine. La Convention définit un processus que les pays côtiers doivent suivre pour définir avec précision les limites extérieures de leurs plateaux continentaux et les faire reconnaître par la communauté internationale.

Le Canada est devenu partie à la Convention en décembre 2003. En 2013, le Canada a déposé un document concernant son plateau continental dans l’océan Atlantique et des renseignements préliminaires concernant les limites extérieures de son plateau continental dans l’océan Arctique.

Nouvelles

2016
Le Canada lance le levé de l'Arctique de 2016 à l'appui de la demande concernant le plateau continental

2015
Le Canada lance un levé scientifique pour la présentation relative au plateau continental étendu de l'Arctique

2014
Le gouvernement Harper lance le premier de deux levés pour compléter la demande du Canada concernant le plateau continental de l’Arctique

2013
Le Canada franchit une étape importante dans la définition de son plateau continental

Restez branchés

Twitter

Ressources naturelles Canada @RNCan

Pêches et Océans Canada @MPO_DFO

Hashtag : #CanArctic

Google Maps

Chronologie des missions de levés

Date de modification :