Language selection

Search

Canadian Safety and Security Program

The Canadian Safety and Security Program (CSSP) is a federally-funded program that supports federal, provincial and municipal governments in the development of innovative science and technology advancements that contribute to the safety and security of Canadians. Projects funded by CSSP strengthen Canada's ability to anticipate, prevent, mitigate, prepare for, respond to, and recover from natural disasters, serious accidents, crime and terrorism through the convergence of science and technology (S&T) with policy, operations, and intelligence.

CSSP allows government departments to meet their safety and security requirements with science and technology solutions in collaboration with industry and/or academia.

The CSSP is managed by the Department of National Defence (DND) in partnership with Public Safety Canada (PSC). Coordination of the CSSP is led by the Centre for Security Science within DND’s science and technology organization, Defence Research and Development Canada (DRDC).


A Venn diagram shows the six priority areas of the Canadian Safety and Security Program with public safety, national security and overlapping domains.

Priority areas

CSSP projects are organized under six priority themes under public safety and national security:

First responders

Develop knowledge, informed advice, and innovative technology solutions to support paramedic, fire, and law enforcement service delivery that is responsive to community needs and the specific challenges facing first responders.

Preparedness and resilience

Develop solutions that support national risk management and mitigation efforts, improve public emergency communications and public responses to emergencies (including natural disasters, violent extremism, etc.), and strengthen whole-of-society resilience.

CBRNE security

Improve Canada’s national capacity to anticipate, prepare for, prevent, respond to, and recover from high consequence Chemical, Biological, Radiological-Nuclear, and Explosive (CBRNE) public safety and security events.

Critical infrastructure resilience

Anticipate, prepare for, and prevent physical and cyber threats and risks to critical infrastructure.

Surveillance, intelligence, and interdiction

Support analytical or operational solutions that help detect, prevent, and respond to various public safety and national security threats.

Border security

Improve efficiency and security of the flow of people and goods at Canada’s ports of entry; and ensure integrity of Canada’s borders.

Key aspects of CSSP projects:

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Programme canadien pour la sûreté et la sécurité

Le Programme canadien pour la sûreté et la sécurité (PCSS) est un programme financé par le gouvernement fédéral qui appuie le gouvernement fédéral ainsi que les gouvernements provinciaux et municipaux dans la création de percées scientifiques et technologiques novatrices qui contribuent à la sûreté et à la sécurité des Canadiens et des Canadiennes. Les projets financés dans le cadre du PCSS visent à renforcer la capacité du Canada à réagir (anticipation, prévention, préparation, intervention et rétablissement) à des accidents graves, des catastrophes naturelles ou des actes terroristes et criminels par la convergence de la science et de la technologie (S et T) avec la politique, les opérations et le renseignement.

Le PCSS permet aux ministères du gouvernement de répondre à leurs besoins en matière de sûreté et de sécurité grâce à des solutions de science et technologie en collaboration avec l’industrie ou le monde universitaire.

Le PCSS est géré par le ministère de la Défense nationale (MDN) en partenariat avec Sécurité publique Canada (SPC). La coordination du PCSS est assurée par le Centre des sciences pour la sécurité (CSS) au sein de l’organisme scientifique et technologique du MDN, Recherche et développement pour la défense Canada (RDDC).


Un diagramme de Venn montre les six domaines prioritaires du Programme canadien pour la sûreté et la sécurité avec la sécurité publique, la sécurité nationale et les domaines qui se chevauchent.

Domaines prioritaires

Les projets du PCSS sont répartis sous six grands thèmes prioritaires relevant de la sécurité publique et de la sécurité nationale :

Premiers intervenants

Permettre l’acquisition de connaissances, la formulation de conseils fiables et la mise au point de solutions technologiques novatrices qui appuient la prestation de services paramédicaux, d’incendie et d’application de la loi de façon à répondre aux attentes de la communauté et aux défis auxquels font face les premiers intervenants.

Préparation et résilience

Mettre au point des solutions qui favorisent les efforts de gestion et d’atténuation des risques à l’échelle nationale, qui améliorent les communications publiques d’urgence et les interventions publiques en cas d’urgence (y compris en cas de catastrophes naturelles, d’actes d’extrémisme violent, etc.), et qui renforcent la résilience de l’ensemble de la société.

Sécurité CBRNE

Améliorer les capacités nationales de prévision, de préparation, de prévention, d’intervention et de rétablissement à la suite d’événements chimiques, biologiques, radiologiques, nucléaires et explosifs (CBRNE) à forte incidence sur la sécurité et la sûreté publique.

Résilience des infrastructures essentielles

Prévoir et prévenir les menaces et les risques physiques et électroniques pesant sur les infrastructures essentielles et s’y préparer.

Surveillance, renseignement et interdiction

Soutenir les solutions analytiques ou opérationnelles qui aident à détecter diverses menaces pour la sécurité publique et la sécurité nationale, les prévenir et y répondre.

Sécurité frontalière

Améliorer l’efficience et la sécurité de la circulation des personnes et des marchandises aux points d’entrée du Canada; et assurer l’intégrité des frontières canadiennes.

Aspects clés des projets du PCSS

Date de modification :